# **COURSE FEES AND POLICIES**

All course applications received prior to November 16, 2024 will be reviewed by a committee from the Mississippi Fire Chiefs Association. Students accepted to attend a course will be notified by letter no later than 30 days prior to the start of the course. Upon completion of a class, the course fee will be billed to the sponsoring department or organization. (See section 6 on general admission application unless otherwise noted.)

1. Course package fees are listed by each individual course, with a Group A, or Group B designation. Course fees include the instructional fee, facility use fee, dorm fees (if applicable), meals (if applicable), and may include a supply fee for consumable commodity supplies used in the course.

Course Fee Groups:

Group A

fee students represent: Mississippi Municipal (career or volunteer) fire departments, Mississippi County (career or volunteer) fire departments, county fire arson investigator (County Fire Arson and Investigator course), emergency management, military personnel assigned full time to a Mississippi Base and Choctaw Fire Department.

Group B

fee students represent: Industrial organizations, federal affiliates, out of state students, for profit entities, law enforcement, medical entities, dispatchers, etc.

Dormitory rooms will be assigned on a first-come basis and after the dormitory is filled, students will be responsible for making outside accommodations. Courses are usually scheduled to coincide with dormitory capacity. (Note: The dorm is closed on the weekends unless a weekend class is being held.)

- 2. Breakfast and lunch are included in course fees (unless stated otherwise) and will be served at the Academy on weekdays only.
- 3. Registration:

Preregistration <u>will not be accepted by telephone</u>. Students' applications should be done through the Academy's online registration process. To register online, go to msfa.ms.gov and click on the 'Sign Up' link in the top right corner.

NOTE: Applications for some courses must include course fee when submitted in order for application(s) to be accepted and processed. Departments may submit a purchase order or check for registration for pre-pay classes. Please read course description to determine if course requires pre-payment.

### 4. State Agency Employees:

Per MS Code 27-104-203, state agencies are prohibited from charging other state agencies. Therefore, all state agency employees that attend training must pay for their dorm and meal expenses, to be reimbursed by their state agency. State agency employees must also purchase their books from a supplier other than MSFA before the start date of class. A book will not be provided to them.

# 5. Application Processing Fee:

There is a \$40 application processing fee for all courses, which is included in the cost of the course. This fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization once any changes are made to a registered student (i.e., cancellation or student substitution). This policy will also apply to fee waived (grant funded) courses.

### 6. No Show Policy For All Courses:

There will be a \$60 fee for all students who are registered to attend a course and fail to attend on the first day. The fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization. (Except for 1001-I-II and Smoke Diver. See these course descriptions for pricing).

No Show Policy for Fee Waived (Grant Funded) Courses:

There will be a \$60 fee for all students who are registered to attend a course and fail to attend on the first day. The fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization. In addition, the student will not be able to register for any other fee-waived (grant funded) courses for a period of one year. Additionally, if the student is currently registered for a fee waived class later in the same year, the registration will be voided and the student will be removed from the class.

### 7. Cancelling a Registered Student:

A request for cancellation for a registered student <u>must be in writing</u> (mail or fax to 601-932-2819) by the fire chief or other responsible official. The notice should contain the department name, student name, the course name and delivery date. Cancellations CAN NOT be taken verbally. Cancellations should be received no later than ten (10) working days prior to course start date. A \$40 processing fee (Section 4 above) will apply and be invoiced to the sponsoring department/organization (regardless if application is marked student financially responsible). Fee does not apply to prepaid classes.

#### 8. Student Substitution:

A request for student substitution for a registered course <u>must be in writing</u> (mail or fax to 601-932-2819) by the fire chief or other responsible official. The notice should contain the department name, both student names, the course name and delivery date. An application for the new student must be submitted with the request. Substitution request CAN NOT be taken verbally. A \$40 processing fee (Section 4 above) will apply and be invoiced to the sponsoring department/organization (regardless if application is marked student financially responsible).

#### 9. Student Withdrawal:

- A. When students withdraw for an emergency reason during a course, the Academy will enroll them in the next available course when requested by department. The entity will be billed a pro rata fee. This policy does not include the Smoke Diver course.
- B. When students withdraw from a course due to illness or injury, the Academy will enroll them in the next available course, at the point at which the student withdrew, with a documented medical statement releasing said student for participation and requested by department. The entity will be billed a pro rata fee. This policy does not include the Smoke Diver course.
- C. When students withdraw from a course for any other reason, all application, course and supply fees will be forfeited.
- D. This policy also applies to grant funded courses. (See Section 6 of general admission application)

- 10. Students will be notified, through their department, upon acceptance in a course and their dormitory status.
- 11. For any admission application that is marked <u>student responsible</u>, the payment must be received 30 days prior to course begin date or the student may be removed from the class.

### 12. REPLACEMENT CERTIFICATE:

The Academy's charge for a replacement certificate is \$2.50. If the replacement certificate is for an IFSAC accreditation course and you want a replacement seal, add an additional \$5.00. All requests for replacement certificates should be sent to the Admissions Office with the student's name, student ID, course attended, date attended, and the address to mail the certificate(s) to. Replacement of ProBoard certificates is the responsibility of the student. Applications can be obtained from the Curriculum Coordinator's office.

### 13. Student Eligibility:

- 1. Student must be a minimum of 18 years of age.
- 2. Student must be employed or sponsored by one of the following: Municipal, County, or Industrial fire protection department/organization (MS Code Annotated 1972, Section 45-11-8(1)).

# 14. Re-Test Policy:

It shall be the policy of the Mississippi State Fire Academy to offer (one) 1 re-test to students on any final administered for an NFPA certification course that is completed with less than a 70% average.

- 1. The student shall complete all quizzes/tests administered throughout the course with a 70% average to qualify to take the certification final.
  - 2. If the student's grade on the final is below a 70%, the student has one chance to re-take the final.
  - 3. The re-test shall be a different version of the previous final, but it shall consist of content at the same level.
  - 4. The re-test must be done within thirty days of the first test date.
- 5. The test shall not be administered the same date of the first test date. The student should be given time to study and prepare for the re-test.
- 6. To re-test, the student shall call and schedule with Instructor Chief Shannon Sandridge or Senior Instructor Donny Collins at (601) 932-2444.
  - 7. The fee of a re-test shall be \$50 and can be paid on the day of the scheduled test.
  - 8. The student will also need to submit a current application for admission with the test fee.

# RULES AND GUIDELINES GOVERNING STUDENTS

Responsibility for compliance with these rules and guidelines rests with the students. Become familiar with the content. For additional help, request an explanation from any Fire Academy Instructor.

Overall charge of the Academy begins with the Executive Director who directs the training programs with help from other staff members. Instructors have delegated responsibilities, one of which is to ensure that all students fulfill their obligations to the Academy.

CLASS ATTENDANCE—All students will be required to attend orientation on the first day of class. The first day of delivery, class will begin at 8:00 a.m. with the Academy rules and procedures being read and explained. Some special classes may begin at other specified times.

CLASS SCHEDULE—The majority of classes are scheduled for Monday-Thursday. A confirmation letter will be sent with dates of delivery to your department. A schedule of activities may be posted in the classroom area. Special night evolutions may be scheduled in some courses.

# RULES AND GUIDELINES GOVERNING STUDENTS

Responsibility for compliance with these rules and guidelines rests with the students. Become familiar with the content. For additional help, request an explanation from any Fire Academy Instructor.

Overall charge of the Academy begins with the Executive Director who directs the training programs with help from other staff members. Instructors have delegated responsibilities, one of which is to ensure that all students fulfill their obligations to the Academy.

- CLASS ATTENDANCE—All students will be required to attend orientation on the first day of class. The first day of delivery, class will begin at 8:00 a.m. with the Academy rules and procedures being read and explained. Some special classes may begin at other specified times.
- CLASS SCHEDULE—The majority of classes are scheduled for Monday-Thursday. A confirmation letter will be sent with dates of delivery to your department. A schedule of activities may be posted in the classroom area. Special night evolutions may be scheduled in some courses.
- PERSONAL ITEMS—The Academy will not assume any responsibility for loss, theft, or damage of personal items.
- WITHDRAWALS—Should it become necessary for a student to withdraw from a course, the course instructor must be notified. All equipment and supplies issued to said student shall be returned before departing and a withdrawal slip signed by student.
- GENERAL CARE OF THE ACADEMY FACILITIES—Students are required to place all refuse in the proper containers, to use only surfaced walkways between training sites, observe all posted signs, and to avoid any abuse of the Academy's facilities. Abuse or damage of state property may result in dismissal from the Academy.
- PARKING—Students must park their vehicles in the following parking lots: front of the Administration Building or front of the Dormitory Building.
- TARDINESS—Students are required to be punctual for all classes, physical training, and other activities. Classes will begin promptly at the scheduled time unless specific instructions are given. Tardiness may be charged at any time during the scheduled training day or for any required function outside the classroom. The first tardy will result in an oral reprimand; the second in a written reprimand being placed in the course file with a copy directed to the student's employer; and the third will result in dismissal of the student from the Academy. Tardiness is defined as up to 15 minutes after the designated class start time.
- ABSENCES—Failure to report to class for a scheduled activity at the specified time will be recorded as an absence. Unless special permission is received from the Course Instructor, students are not permitted to leave the Academy at any time during training hours. Failure to comply will result in an unexcused absence and dismissal. Emergency leave may be allowed for legitimate reasons. Make up of all classes and exams missed during a student's absence shall be completed upon the student's return. Make up of classes in some courses may not be available until the next scheduled course, and the student's record will indicate "Dropped." Due to the course material in some classes, students may be required to enroll from the beginning of the course. A student is considered absent when they are 15 minutes or beyond past the designated class start time.

AMERICAN DISABILITIES ACT (ADA) FEDERAL REGULATIONS (REVISED)—In accordance with ADA Federal Regulations, the sponsoring department/organization may request an oral examination process for their personnel who have a qualifying disability covered by the ADA regulations. To request oral testing as a reasonable accommodation, the department and/or student must submit a written request with supporting documentation from a professional with an appropriate medical licensure to make a diagnosis and to recommend the reasonable accommodation. This must be requested each time a student registers for attendance as we do not keep the information on file for reference.

Please note that oral testing for Hazardous Materials courses is not a reasonable accommodation since the student must demonstrate the ability to read and comprehend notations on signs, place cards, MSDS sheets, and labels for testing purposes.

- COMMUNICATIONS—Students should have the ability to read, write, and understand the English language. Additionally, the student should have the ability to comprehend written precautions, instructions, and warnings in the English language, including, but not limited to material safety data sheets and posted warnings regarding hazardous, flammable/explosive materials and hazardous or unsafe areas and physical conditions.
- COMPUTER INFORMATION FOR POTENTIAL STUDENTS—Depending on the course you are taking; you may have access to computer lab. You may also have access to the Internet, but you will be bound by Academy policy and ITS policy regarding use of State Computer Systems.
  - The Mississippi State Fire Academy will allow you to bring your own personal computer equipment for use but will not be responsible for any loss or theft of computer equipment. The Mississippi State Fire Academy does not offer any repair service for student's own personal equipment.
  - Some areas of the Academy campus do not currently have wireless access.
  - If you are planning on doing some work at home in advance of your class and want to use the Academy's computers while you are here, please save your work in file formats compatible with older systems.
- RELEASING OF TEST SCORES AND TRANSCRIPTS—Test scores and training records will be released only upon written request from the individual or one of the following: individual's department head or training officer. Student transcripts shall be obtained only by a written request from the student, the chief officer in charge, or a designee from the organization represented. Name, MSFA student ID number, and mailing address must appear on the written request.
- CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE—Immoral or disorderly student conduct, profane, obscene, vulgar, or indecent language, and any racial or sexual slurs/harassment may result in dismissal from the Academy. The Instructor Chief and/or the Executive Director will handle all infractions committed by students. Harassment is any unwarranted or unwanted verbal or nonverbal conduct which threatens, intimidates, pesters, embarrasses, annoys, degrades, or insults another person, either female or male, where such conduct has the purpose or effect of creating an offensive, intimidating, degrading, or hostile environment. Sexual harassment includes unwelcomed sexual advances, requests for sexual favors and other verbal or nonverbal actions of a sexual nature. (Immoral or disorderly conduct, misconduct, profane, obscene, vulgar, or indecent language, and any racial or sexual slurs/harassment will not be tolerated and may result in dismissal from the Academy with two years suspension.)
- DRESS CODE—Comfortable clothing such as warm-ups, coveralls, or other suitable clothing may be worn in class and for evolutions not requiring protective clothing. All students will be required to wear NFPA recommended protective clothing for designated evolutions. Students are required to wear shirts with sleeves in public areas of all Academy

buildings. "T"-Shirts, sweat-shirts and caps must be official fire department, fire service, industrial, law enforcement, emergency medical services, or solid. Other T-shirts and caps are not permitted. Shorts and dresses shall be no shorter than 2 inches from the top of the kneecap. Ladies' sports bras shall be padded and worn under shirts in all public areas and buildings at all times. Spandex or Lycra, such as yoga pants or leggings, shall only be worn under shorts. Students participating in hot drill evolutions should wear long sleeve shirts and long pants for additional personal safety. Full coverage shoes are required at all times while attending the Academy.

- CLASSROOM DEMEANOR—Students using vulgar, disrespectful, or disruptive remarks, or engaging in other activities strictly prohibited by Academy rules and procedures will face disciplinary action. Disciplinary action may include dismissal and two years suspension. Students are required to maintain classroom cleanliness. Each student is responsible for the removal of trash from their area and the alignment of his/her nameplate, books, and chair each day.
- CELL PHONE USAGE-If a student finds it necessary to bring a cell phone to class, it must be on silent mode at all times. It will be acceptable for a student to use the cellular device to record classroom lectures. However, cell phone usage or recording is prohibited during the following:
  - a) Basic firefighting class all class times
  - b) Any course during testing process (skills or written)
  - c) Any post course test review process
  - d) Any other time the course Instructor deems necessary to prohibit usage
- GRADES AND EXAMINATIONS—Students who complete the course with an overall average of 70% or greater and satisfactorily complete all physical and practical exercises will receive a certificate indicating successful completion. Failure to complete all of these requirements will result in course failure and will be noted on their permanent training record. See Course Instructor for copy of testing procedures.
- All Multi-Level Accredited Courses will be tested for each level. Successful completion of both levels is required for accreditation. contact the Curriculum Coordinator for complete details or visit our website: www. https://msfa.ms.gov/
- ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT-Academic misconduct or dishonesty is any type of cheating that occurs in relation to a formal academic exercise. All students cheating during training will be subject to immediate dismissal.
- PHYSICAL TRAINING—All students must participate in every aspect of training. Failure to participate will result in an "Incomplete" grade in the course.
- BREAKS—The instructor in charge of the class will set times for breaks. Taking breaks outside of the designated break areas is prohibited. Students are allowed in the front office area only when conducting official business or with prior authorization from an instructor.
- EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES—Students are responsible for the care and return of all Academy issued equipment and/or supplies.
- PERSONAL HYGIENE AND GROOMING—Students are expected to maintain personal hygiene and acceptable appearance during training at the Academy. A student who has hair (stubble, mustache, sideburns, beard, low hairline, bangs), jewelry, or

- other impediment to the proper seal of the facepiece of a self-contained breathing apparatus, shall not be permitted to participate in training courses requiring the use of self-contained breathing apparatus.
- MEDICATIONS—The Academy does not provide oral medications for students.
- ILLNESS OR INJURY—If students are ill or injured, they must report immediately to the Course Instructor so proper medical care may be provided and a record maintained. Any special medical issues must be indicated in the appropriate location found on the Academy's General Admission Application. The Mississippi State Fire Academy does not provide medical insurance coverage for students.
- USE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS—The Academy prohibits the use of any tobacco products inside all buildings on the campus and while using training equipment. Containers are provided outside the buildings for disposal of cigarettes and cigars.
- WEAPONS AND EXPLOSIVES—In an effort to safeguard the public, staff, and students of the Academy, weapons of any type and/or explosives are not allowed in any building or training area and are prohibited on Academy grounds. Any person having possession of a weapon or explosive in any building or training area will be asked to remove the weapon or explosive from the campus. If the person does not comply with the removal of the weapon or explosive, the Academy will call for law enforcement assistance. In addition, any student found with a weapon or explosive will be subject to immediate dismissal. This prohibition shall not apply to certified law enforcement officers.
- GAMBLING, INTOXICANTS, NARCOTICS—Gambling in any form, possession of alcoholic beverages or illegal narcotics is prohibited on Academy grounds. Violation of any of the above will result in immediate dismissal.
- VIOLATION OF THE LAW—Any student arrested or under the influence of any intoxicants or narcotic substances, etc., while enrolled at the Academy will be subject to immediate dismissal.
- STUDENT GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE—Student grievances should be made in written form (within ten (10) working days) to the Instructor Chief who will review the grievance and take the appropriate action. Written appeal of the Instructor Chief's decision can be filed with the Executive Director for review. Any further appeal is filed with the office of the Commissioner of Insurance whose decision is final.
- MINIMUM AGE—Students attending courses at the Mississippi State Fire Academy must be a minimum of 18 years old.
- UNAUTHORIZED PERSONNEL—Unauthorized personnel are restricted from the State Fire Academy Field Training Complex.
- FIRE FIGHTER STAMINA—Fire fighter training can be a physically and mentally stressful activity. Training requires considerable physical exertion—exposure to high temperature and humidity levels, and toxic atmospheres, and the ability to react quickly to emergency situations. It requires working at height and in confined spaces. Results could cause elevated body temperatures, increased pulse, respiration, and blood pressure. Persons with known heart or lung disease, hypertension, pregnancy, or other medical or mental conditions are advised to check with his/her personal or department physician before participating in any of these activities.

# INFORMATION FOR DORMITORY STUDENTS

Upon arrival at the State Fire Academy, all dormitory students must register at the Dormitory located south of the Administration Building. A Security Officer will be present to assist in registration and related activities. Only those students enrolled for training, or those assisting with training, may stay in the dormitory. Students may check-in dormitory between 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.

The Security Officer is directly responsible for safety, conduct, and security of dormitory occupants, and will be available to assist students, in these areas, during non-training hours.

- All dormitory rooms will be subject to inspection and/or searched if violations of rules are suspected. A request for admission to the State Fire Academy will be construed as an implied consent to all investigations and searches. These investigations and searches will be conducted by proper authorities.
- Dormitory furnishings are property of the state of Mississippi. Any cost for repair or replacement will be charged directly to the student(s) responsible and/or the organization(s) the student represents.
- Rooms are inspected prior to and upon departure of student occupancy. Responsibility for any damage or missing property will be charged to the student(s) last occupying the room.
- Once room assignments have been made, requests for changes will be directed to the Executive Director. All students will share in the proper policing of their rooms, buildings, and campus as directed. Each day all beds will be made, and all personal items neatly stored. All linen and room keys must be turned in before 8:00 a.m. the last day of class.

  Blankets and spread should be folded neatly and placed on the bed. Rooms must be neatly arranged and free of all debris. All personal items are to be removed from room on Thursday.
- The dormitory will be closed during class hours, with the exception of lunch time. If students need to return to their room during class hours, permission must be granted by the Course Instructor.
- Except in the case of married students, no room will be shared by a male student and a female student. Students of opposite sex will not visit in rooms.
- Dormitory visitors will be allowed only between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. All visitors must leave the campus at 9:00 p.m.
- The use of tobacco in any form is strictly prohibited in the dormitory. Failure to comply will result in dismissal from dormitory privileges.
- Alcoholic beverages and controlled substances are strictly prohibited in the dormitory. Failure to comply will result in dismissal from dormitory privileges.
- Students are free to leave the State Fire Academy at the end of each class day. However, if grade average is below 70% they are encouraged to remain on campus and study.
- Quiet time will be observed between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:30 a.m. Students who fail to observe quiet hours will be removed from the dorm.
- The State Fire Academy grounds will be secured at 11:00 p.m. All students should be back on the grounds prior to this time. Security checks will be made of the Academy complex continuously during the night.
- Use of the exercise room is encouraged; however, for safety reasons, no one will be permitted to work out in the exercise room unless others are present. The exercise room is limited to fitness use only. Leisure activity is not allowed.

  Students unaccustomed to using an exercise room should seek the supervision of a staff instructor.
- A public telephone is located in the Dormitory lobby for outgoing calls only.

The opening of windows, blocking or altering of air conditioner/heating vents is prohibited due to the temperature control system of the dormitory. If the dorm room is not a comfortable temperature, please notify your instructor during the morning roll call.

Items provided include: mattress, sheets, pillow, blanket, bath towels and hand towels. Any other items essential to your stay, you must provide. Please note mattresses are covered in plastic for sanitary reasons. A small refrigerator is in each room and a microwave is in lobby area. There is one TV in the lobby area. Vending machines are also available.

Rules and guidelines governing student conduct will be strictly enforced. All students not in compliance will be subject to expulsion from the State Fire Academy. A full report of their conduct will be submitted to the trainee's fire chief and/or other appropriate official(s). The foregoing information shall not be construed as all-inclusive.