COURSE FEES AND POLICIES

All course applications received prior to November 16, 2024 will be reviewed by a committee from the Mississippi Fire Chiefs Association. Students accepted to attend a course will be notified by letter no later than 30 days prior to the start of the course. Upon completion of a class, the course fee will be billed to the sponsoring department or organization. (See section 6 on general admission application unless otherwise noted.)

1. Course package fees are listed by each individual course, with a Group A, or Group B designation. Course fees include the instructional fee, facility use fee, dorm fees (if applicable), meals (if applicable), and may include a supply fee for consumable commodity supplies used in the course.

Course Fee Groups:

Group A

fee students represent: Mississippi Municipal (career or volunteer) fire departments, Mississippi County (career or volunteer) fire departments, county fire arson investigator (County Fire Arson and Investigator course), emergency management, military personnel assigned full time to a Mississippi Base and Choctaw Fire Department.

Group B

fee students represent: Industrial organizations, federal affiliates, out of state students, for profit entities, law enforcement, medical entities, dispatchers, etc.

Dormitory rooms will be assigned on a first-come basis and after the dormitory is filled, students will be responsible for making outside accommodations. Courses are usually scheduled to coincide with dormitory capacity. (Note: The dorm is closed on the weekends unless a weekend class is being held.)

- 2. Breakfast and lunch are included in course fees (unless stated otherwise) and will be served at the Academy on weekdays only.
- 3. Registration:

Preregistration <u>will not be accepted by telephone</u>. Students' applications should be done through the Academy's online registration process. To register online, go to msfa.ms.gov and click on the 'Sign Up' link in the top right corner.

NOTE: Applications for some courses must include course fee when submitted in order for application(s) to be accepted and processed. Departments may submit a purchase order or check for registration for pre-pay classes. Please read course description to determine if course requires pre-payment.

4. State Agency Employees:

Per MS Code 27-104-203, state agencies are prohibited from charging other state agencies. Therefore, all state agency employees that attend training must pay for their dorm and meal expenses, to be reimbursed by their state agency. State agency employees must also purchase their books from a supplier other than MSFA before the start date of class. A book will not be provided to them.

5. Application Processing Fee:

There is a \$40 application processing fee for all courses, which is included in the cost of the course. This fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization once any changes are made to a registered student (i.e., cancellation or student substitution). This policy will also apply to fee waived (grant funded) courses.

6. No Show Policy For All Courses:

There will be a \$60 fee for all students who are registered to attend a course and fail to attend on the first day. The fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization. (Except for 1001-I-II and Smoke Diver. See these course descriptions for pricing).

No Show Policy for Fee Waived (Grant Funded) Courses:

There will be a \$60 fee for all students who are registered to attend a course and fail to attend on the first day. The fee will be charged to the sponsoring department/organization. In addition, the student will not be able to register for any other fee-waived (grant funded) courses for a period of one year. Additionally, if the student is currently registered for a fee waived class later in the same year, the registration will be voided and the student will be removed from the class.

7. Cancelling a Registered Student:

A request for cancellation for a registered student <u>must be in writing</u> (mail or fax to 601-932-2819) by the fire chief or other responsible official. The notice should contain the department name, student name, the course name and delivery date. Cancellations CAN NOT be taken verbally. Cancellations should be received no later than ten (10) working days prior to course start date. A \$40 processing fee (Section 4 above) will apply and be invoiced to the sponsoring department/organization (regardless if application is marked student financially responsible). Fee does not apply to prepaid classes.

8. Student Substitution:

A request for student substitution for a registered course <u>must be in writing</u> (mail or fax to 601-932-2819) by the fire chief or other responsible official. The notice should contain the department name, both student names, the course name and delivery date. An application for the new student must be submitted with the request. Substitution request CAN NOT be taken verbally. A \$40 processing fee (Section 4 above) will apply and be invoiced to the sponsoring department/organization (regardless if application is marked student financially responsible).

9. Student Withdrawal:

- A. When students withdraw for an emergency reason during a course, the Academy will enroll them in the next available course when requested by department. The entity will be billed a pro rata fee. This policy does not include the Smoke Diver course.
- B. When students withdraw from a course due to illness or injury, the Academy will enroll them in the next available course, at the point at which the student withdrew, with a documented medical statement releasing said student for participation and requested by department. The entity will be billed a pro rata fee. This policy does not include the Smoke Diver course.
- C. When students withdraw from a course for any other reason, all application, course and supply fees will be forfeited.
- D. This policy also applies to grant funded courses. (See Section 6 of general admission application)

- 10. Students will be notified, through their department, upon acceptance in a course and their dormitory status.
- 11. For any admission application that is marked <u>student responsible</u>, the payment must be received 30 days prior to course begin date or the student may be removed from the class.

12. REPLACEMENT CERTIFICATE:

The Academy's charge for a replacement certificate is \$2.50. If the replacement certificate is for an IFSAC accreditation course and you want a replacement seal, add an additional \$5.00. All requests for replacement certificates should be sent to the Admissions Office with the student's name, student ID, course attended, date attended, and the address to mail the certificate(s) to. Replacement of ProBoard certificates is the responsibility of the student. Applications can be obtained from the Curriculum Coordinator's office.

13. Student Eligibility:

- 1. Student must be a minimum of 18 years of age.
- 2. Student must be employed or sponsored by one of the following: Municipal, County, or Industrial fire protection department/organization (MS Code Annotated 1972, Section 45-11-8(1)).

14. Re-Test Policy:

It shall be the policy of the Mississippi State Fire Academy to offer (one) 1 re-test to students on any final administered for an NFPA certification course that is completed with less than a 70% average.

- 1. The student shall complete all quizzes/tests administered throughout the course with a 70% average to qualify to take the certification final.
 - 2. If the student's grade on the final is below a 70%, the student has one chance to re-take the final.
 - 3. The re-test shall be a different version of the previous final, but it shall consist of content at the same level.
 - 4. The re-test must be done within thirty days of the first test date.
- 5. The test shall not be administered the same date of the first test date. The student should be given time to study and prepare for the re-test.
- 6. To re-test, the student shall call and schedule with Instructor Chief Shannon Sandridge or Senior Instructor Donny Collins at (601) 932-2444.
 - 7. The fee of a re-test shall be \$50 and can be paid on the day of the scheduled test.
 - 8. The student will also need to submit a current application for admission with the test fee.

RULES AND GUIDELINES GOVERNING STUDENTS

Responsibility for compliance with these rules and guidelines rests with the students. Become familiar with the content. For additional help, request an explanation from any Fire Academy Instructor.

Overall charge of the Academy begins with the Executive Director who directs the training programs with help from other staff members. Instructors have delegated responsibilities, one of which is to ensure that all students fulfill their obligations to the Academy.

CLASS ATTENDANCE—All students will be required to attend orientation on the first day of class. The first day of delivery, class will begin at 8:00 a.m. with the Academy rules and procedures being read and explained. Some special classes may begin at other specified times.

CLASS SCHEDULE—The majority of classes are scheduled for Monday-Thursday. A confirmation letter will be sent with dates of delivery to your department. A schedule of activities may be posted in the classroom area. Special night evolutions may be scheduled in some courses.

RULES AND GUIDELINES GOVERNING STUDENTS

Responsibility for compliance with these rules and guidelines rests with the students. Become familiar with the content. For additional help, request an explanation from any Fire Academy Instructor.

Overall charge of the Academy begins with the Executive Director who directs the training programs with help from other staff members. Instructors have delegated responsibilities, one of which is to ensure that all students fulfill their obligations to the Academy.

- CLASS ATTENDANCE—All students will be required to attend orientation on the first day of class. The first day of delivery, class will begin at 8:00 a.m. with the Academy rules and procedures being read and explained. Some special classes may begin at other specified times.
- CLASS SCHEDULE—The majority of classes are scheduled for Monday-Thursday. A confirmation letter will be sent with dates of delivery to your department. A schedule of activities may be posted in the classroom area. Special night evolutions may be scheduled in some courses.
- PERSONAL ITEMS—The Academy will not assume any responsibility for loss, theft, or damage of personal items.
- WITHDRAWALS—Should it become necessary for a student to withdraw from a course, the course instructor must be notified. All equipment and supplies issued to said student shall be returned before departing and a withdrawal slip signed by student.
- GENERAL CARE OF THE ACADEMY FACILITIES—Students are required to place all refuse in the proper containers, to use only surfaced walkways between training sites, observe all posted signs, and to avoid any abuse of the Academy's facilities. Abuse or damage of state property may result in dismissal from the Academy.
- PARKING—Students must park their vehicles in the following parking lots: front of the Administration Building or front of the Dormitory Building.
- TARDINESS—Students are required to be punctual for all classes, physical training, and other activities. Classes will begin promptly at the scheduled time unless specific instructions are given. Tardiness may be charged at any time during the scheduled training day or for any required function outside the classroom. The first tardy will result in an oral reprimand; the second in a written reprimand being placed in the course file with a copy directed to the student's employer; and the third will result in dismissal of the student from the Academy. Tardiness is defined as up to 15 minutes after the designated class start time.
- ABSENCES—Failure to report to class for a scheduled activity at the specified time will be recorded as an absence. Unless special permission is received from the Course Instructor, students are not permitted to leave the Academy at any time during training hours. Failure to comply will result in an unexcused absence and dismissal. Emergency leave may be allowed for legitimate reasons. Make up of all classes and exams missed during a student's absence shall be completed upon the student's return. Make up of classes in some courses may not be available until the next scheduled course, and the student's record will indicate "Dropped." Due to the course material in some classes, students may be required to enroll from the beginning of the course. A student is considered absent when they are 15 minutes or beyond past the designated class start time.

AMERICAN DISABILITIES ACT (ADA) FEDERAL REGULATIONS (REVISED)—In accordance with ADA Federal Regulations, the sponsoring department/organization may request an oral examination process for their personnel who have a qualifying disability covered by the ADA regulations. To request oral testing as a reasonable accommodation, the department and/or student must submit a written request with supporting documentation from a professional with an appropriate medical licensure to make a diagnosis and to recommend the reasonable accommodation. This must be requested each time a student registers for attendance as we do not keep the information on file for reference.

Please note that oral testing for Hazardous Materials courses is not a reasonable accommodation since the student must demonstrate the ability to read and comprehend notations on signs, place cards, MSDS sheets, and labels for testing purposes.

- COMMUNICATIONS—Students should have the ability to read, write, and understand the English language. Additionally, the student should have the ability to comprehend written precautions, instructions, and warnings in the English language, including, but not limited to material safety data sheets and posted warnings regarding hazardous, flammable/explosive materials and hazardous or unsafe areas and physical conditions.
- COMPUTER INFORMATION FOR POTENTIAL STUDENTS—Depending on the course you are taking; you may have access to computer lab. You may also have access to the Internet, but you will be bound by Academy policy and ITS policy regarding use of State Computer Systems.
 - The Mississippi State Fire Academy will allow you to bring your own personal computer equipment for use but will not be responsible for any loss or theft of computer equipment. The Mississippi State Fire Academy does not offer any repair service for student's own personal equipment.
 - Some areas of the Academy campus do not currently have wireless access.
 - If you are planning on doing some work at home in advance of your class and want to use the Academy's computers while you are here, please save your work in file formats compatible with older systems.
- RELEASING OF TEST SCORES AND TRANSCRIPTS—Test scores and training records will be released only upon written request from the individual or one of the following: individual's department head or training officer. Student transcripts shall be obtained only by a written request from the student, the chief officer in charge, or a designee from the organization represented. Name, MSFA student ID number, and mailing address must appear on the written request.
- CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE—Immoral or disorderly student conduct, profane, obscene, vulgar, or indecent language, and any racial or sexual slurs/harassment may result in dismissal from the Academy. The Instructor Chief and/or the Executive Director will handle all infractions committed by students. Harassment is any unwarranted or unwanted verbal or nonverbal conduct which threatens, intimidates, pesters, embarrasses, annoys, degrades, or insults another person, either female or male, where such conduct has the purpose or effect of creating an offensive, intimidating, degrading, or hostile environment. Sexual harassment includes unwelcomed sexual advances, requests for sexual favors and other verbal or nonverbal actions of a sexual nature. (Immoral or disorderly conduct, misconduct, profane, obscene, vulgar, or indecent language, and any racial or sexual slurs/harassment will not be tolerated and may result in dismissal from the Academy with two years suspension.)
- DRESS CODE—Comfortable clothing such as warm-ups, coveralls, or other suitable clothing may be worn in class and for evolutions not requiring protective clothing. All students will be required to wear NFPA recommended protective clothing for designated evolutions. Students are required to wear shirts with sleeves in public areas of all Academy

buildings. "T"-Shirts, sweat-shirts and caps must be official fire department, fire service, industrial, law enforcement, emergency medical services, or solid. Other T-shirts and caps are not permitted. Shorts and dresses shall be no shorter than 2 inches from the top of the kneecap. Ladies' sports bras shall be padded and worn under shirts in all public areas and buildings at all times. Spandex or Lycra, such as yoga pants or leggings, shall only be worn under shorts. Students participating in hot drill evolutions should wear long sleeve shirts and long pants for additional personal safety. Full coverage shoes are required at all times while attending the Academy.

- CLASSROOM DEMEANOR—Students using vulgar, disrespectful, or disruptive remarks, or engaging in other activities strictly prohibited by Academy rules and procedures will face disciplinary action. Disciplinary action may include dismissal and two years suspension. Students are required to maintain classroom cleanliness. Each student is responsible for the removal of trash from their area and the alignment of his/her nameplate, books, and chair each day.
- CELL PHONE USAGE-If a student finds it necessary to bring a cell phone to class, it must be on silent mode at all times. It will be acceptable for a student to use the cellular device to record classroom lectures. However, cell phone usage or recording is prohibited during the following:
 - a) Basic firefighting class all class times
 - b) Any course during testing process (skills or written)
 - c) Any post course test review process
 - d) Any other time the course Instructor deems necessary to prohibit usage
- GRADES AND EXAMINATIONS—Students who complete the course with an overall average of 70% or greater and satisfactorily complete all physical and practical exercises will receive a certificate indicating successful completion. Failure to complete all of these requirements will result in course failure and will be noted on their permanent training record. See Course Instructor for copy of testing procedures.
- All Multi-Level Accredited Courses will be tested for each level. Successful completion of both levels is required for accreditation. contact the Curriculum Coordinator for complete details or visit our website: www. https://msfa.ms.gov/
- ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT-Academic misconduct or dishonesty is any type of cheating that occurs in relation to a formal academic exercise. All students cheating during training will be subject to immediate dismissal.
- PHYSICAL TRAINING—All students must participate in every aspect of training. Failure to participate will result in an "Incomplete" grade in the course.
- BREAKS—The instructor in charge of the class will set times for breaks. Taking breaks outside of the designated break areas is prohibited. Students are allowed in the front office area only when conducting official business or with prior authorization from an instructor.
- EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES—Students are responsible for the care and return of all Academy issued equipment and/or supplies.
- PERSONAL HYGIENE AND GROOMING—Students are expected to maintain personal hygiene and acceptable appearance during training at the Academy. A student who has hair (stubble, mustache, sideburns, beard, low hairline, bangs), jewelry, or

- other impediment to the proper seal of the facepiece of a self-contained breathing apparatus, shall not be permitted to participate in training courses requiring the use of self-contained breathing apparatus.
- MEDICATIONS—The Academy does not provide oral medications for students.
- ILLNESS OR INJURY—If students are ill or injured, they must report immediately to the Course Instructor so proper medical care may be provided and a record maintained. Any special medical issues must be indicated in the appropriate location found on the Academy's General Admission Application. The Mississippi State Fire Academy does not provide medical insurance coverage for students.
- USE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS—The Academy prohibits the use of any tobacco products inside all buildings on the campus and while using training equipment. Containers are provided outside the buildings for disposal of cigarettes and cigars.
- WEAPONS AND EXPLOSIVES—In an effort to safeguard the public, staff, and students of the Academy, weapons of any type and/or explosives are not allowed in any building or training area and are prohibited on Academy grounds. Any person having possession of a weapon or explosive in any building or training area will be asked to remove the weapon or explosive from the campus. If the person does not comply with the removal of the weapon or explosive, the Academy will call for law enforcement assistance. In addition, any student found with a weapon or explosive will be subject to immediate dismissal. This prohibition shall not apply to certified law enforcement officers.
- GAMBLING, INTOXICANTS, NARCOTICS—Gambling in any form, possession of alcoholic beverages or illegal narcotics is prohibited on Academy grounds. Violation of any of the above will result in immediate dismissal.
- VIOLATION OF THE LAW—Any student arrested or under the influence of any intoxicants or narcotic substances, etc., while enrolled at the Academy will be subject to immediate dismissal.
- STUDENT GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE—Student grievances should be made in written form (within ten (10) working days) to the Instructor Chief who will review the grievance and take the appropriate action. Written appeal of the Instructor Chief's decision can be filed with the Executive Director for review. Any further appeal is filed with the office of the Commissioner of Insurance whose decision is final.
- MINIMUM AGE—Students attending courses at the Mississippi State Fire Academy must be a minimum of 18 years old.
- UNAUTHORIZED PERSONNEL—Unauthorized personnel are restricted from the State Fire Academy Field Training Complex.
- FIRE FIGHTER STAMINA—Fire fighter training can be a physically and mentally stressful activity. Training requires considerable physical exertion—exposure to high temperature and humidity levels, and toxic atmospheres, and the ability to react quickly to emergency situations. It requires working at height and in confined spaces. Results could cause elevated body temperatures, increased pulse, respiration, and blood pressure. Persons with known heart or lung disease, hypertension, pregnancy, or other medical or mental conditions are advised to check with his/her personal or department physician before participating in any of these activities.

INFORMATION FOR DORMITORY STUDENTS

Upon arrival at the State Fire Academy, all dormitory students must register at the Dormitory located south of the Administration Building. A Security Officer will be present to assist in registration and related activities. Only those students enrolled for training, or those assisting with training, may stay in the dormitory. Students may check-in dormitory between 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.

The Security Officer is directly responsible for safety, conduct, and security of dormitory occupants, and will be available to assist students, in these areas, during non-training hours.

- All dormitory rooms will be subject to inspection and/or searched if violations of rules are suspected. A request for admission to the State Fire Academy will be construed as an implied consent to all investigations and searches. These investigations and searches will be conducted by proper authorities.
- Dormitory furnishings are property of the state of Mississippi. Any cost for repair or replacement will be charged directly to the student(s) responsible and/or the organization(s) the student represents.
- Rooms are inspected prior to and upon departure of student occupancy. Responsibility for any damage or missing property will be charged to the student(s) last occupying the room.
- Once room assignments have been made, requests for changes will be directed to the Executive Director. All students will share in the proper policing of their rooms, buildings, and campus as directed. Each day all beds will be made, and all personal items neatly stored. All linen and room keys must be turned in before 8:00 a.m. the last day of class.

 Blankets and spread should be folded neatly and placed on the bed. Rooms must be neatly arranged and free of all debris. All personal items are to be removed from room on Thursday.
- The dormitory will be closed during class hours, with the exception of lunch time. If students need to return to their room during class hours, permission must be granted by the Course Instructor.
- Except in the case of married students, no room will be shared by a male student and a female student. Students of opposite sex will not visit in rooms.
- Dormitory visitors will be allowed only between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. All visitors must leave the campus at 9:00 p.m.
- The use of tobacco in any form is strictly prohibited in the dormitory. Failure to comply will result in dismissal from dormitory privileges.
- Alcoholic beverages and controlled substances are strictly prohibited in the dormitory. Failure to comply will result in dismissal from dormitory privileges.
- Students are free to leave the State Fire Academy at the end of each class day. However, if grade average is below 70% they are encouraged to remain on campus and study.
- Quiet time will be observed between the hours of 10:30 p.m. and 6:30 a.m. Students who fail to observe quiet hours will be removed from the dorm.
- The State Fire Academy grounds will be secured at 11:00 p.m. All students should be back on the grounds prior to this time. Security checks will be made of the Academy complex continuously during the night.
- Use of the exercise room is encouraged; however, for safety reasons, no one will be permitted to work out in the exercise room unless others are present. The exercise room is limited to fitness use only. Leisure activity is not allowed.

 Students unaccustomed to using an exercise room should seek the supervision of a staff instructor.
- A public telephone is located in the Dormitory lobby for outgoing calls only.

The opening of windows, blocking or altering of air conditioner/heating vents is prohibited due to the temperature control system of the dormitory. If the dorm room is not a comfortable temperature, please notify your instructor during the morning roll call.

Items provided include: mattress, sheets, pillow, blanket, bath towels and hand towels. Any other items essential to your stay, you must provide. Please note mattresses are covered in plastic for sanitary reasons. A small refrigerator is in each room and a microwave is in lobby area. There is one TV in the lobby area. Vending machines are also available.

Rules and guidelines governing student conduct will be strictly enforced. All students not in compliance will be subject to expulsion from the State Fire Academy. A full report of their conduct will be submitted to the trainee's fire chief and/or other appropriate official(s). The foregoing information shall not be construed as all-inclusive.

MISSISSIPPI TRAINEE AGILITY TEST (MSTAT)

Course Number MSTAT Course Hours: 1

Enrollment: An Admission Application and payment is required for each MSTAT that the trainee attends. The sponsoring

department will be billed after each test.

Maximum Enrollment: 30

Course Fee: \$20 (Note: Regional testing sites may require an additional \$10)

Pre-Entry Requirement into a Mississippi Fire Personnel Minimum Standards and Certification Board NFPA 1001-I-II Fire Fighter Course. The trainee must present a pictured driver license or other government issue

form of pictured identification showing candidate is a minimum 18 years of age.

Delivery Location/ Date: Starkville, Oxford, Tupelo, Grenada,

Meridian, Gulfport, & MSFA (if required):Jackson, & Biloxi:January 10, 2024February 7, 2024March 6, 2024April 3, 2024May 1, 2024June 5, 2024July 10, 2024August 7, 2024September 11, 2024October 2, 2024November 6, 2024December 4, 2024

Prerequisite: None

Other: As per Minimum Standards and Certification Board requirement, once the fire fighter has successfully

completed MSTAT, the trainee must begin the Fire Fighter 1001-I-II course within 365 days.

FIRE FIGHTER 1001-I-II

(State minimum Training Standards Course)

Course Number CC 1001-2014 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

(MISSISSIPPI CODE #45-11-203) Meets or exceeds NFPA 1001)

Course Hours: 280

EMS CEU Hours: 48 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 30

Course Fees: \$500 - Group A \$1,185 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Course fee includes all instruction, course material, manual, dorm, and meals. There is no reduction to the

fee if any of the above are not needed.

Delivery Date: Delivery 1 January 7–February 22, 2024

Delivery 2 February 25–April 11, 2024 Delivery 3 April 7–May 23, 2024

Delivery 4 June 2, 2024–July 25, 2024 (No class the week of July 4th)

Delivery 5 August 4–September 26, 2024 (No class the week of Labor Day)

Delivery 6 October 20–December 12, 2024 (No class the week of Thanksgiving)

Prerequisites:

Successful completion of MTSAT and the following eight documents must be on file with the Academy before a Fire Fighter 1001 Applicant will be registered for a class:

- 1. An MSFA General Admission Application for Fire Fighter 1001-I-II.
- 2. A copy of a pictured driver's license or other government issued form of pictured identification showing the student is a minimum of 18 years of age. A properly notarized copy of a birth certificate may be used as evidence of meeting this requirement. The driver's license must be legible and not expire during the course delivery.
- 3. A copy of a standard high school diploma or certificate of GED notarized by the issuing institution or school board. A letter indicating the student's name, social security number and graduation date, issued by the school board will also meet the requirement for this item. A copy of a student issued transcript from a community college or four-year university transcript will also suffice for meeting the minimum requirement of standard high school diploma or certificate of GED.
- 4. A copy of a current CPR card issued from American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or equivalent. The CPR card must be signed and valid during the course delivery.
- 5. A copy of a certificate or proof of meeting the requirements of the emergency medical care prerequisite knowledge requirement as set forth by the Board or one of the following as the Board, by precedence, has approved as meeting this requirement:
 - Certificate of Completion for a Department of Transportation course on First Responder.
 - B. National Registration as a First Responder through the National Registry of EMT's.
 - C. National Registration as an Emergency Medical Technician Basic, Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate, or Emergency Medical Technician Paramedic through the National Registry of EMT's.
 - D. Certificate of Completion for a Department of Transportation or Department of Defense course on Emergency Medical Technician Basic.
 - E. Certificate from the Mississippi State Fire Academy indicating completion of the E-Med Course.
 - F. Certificate of Completion from the Medic First Aid Course.
- 6. A copy of properly completed Physicians Medical Examination Report (MSCB Form 4) valid for one year but must be valid from date of exam during all days of the scheduled delivery.
- 7. A copy of the Mississippi Training Agility Test Evaluation Form from the Mississippi State Fire Academy indicating successful completion.
- 8. Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations IFSAC Certification

Hazardous Materials Awareness & Operations is offered as an online course administered through MSFA Special/Industrial Bureau

Course Description:

This course is designed to meet the uniform minimum training standards stated in Mississippi Code Section 45-11-203 and to meet or exceed the minimum standards of the National Fire Protection Association Fire Fighter Professional Qualification Standards 1001-I-II.

Daily classroom sessions include chapter presentations from Jones & Bartlett <u>Fundamentals of Fire Fighter</u> Skills, Fourth (4th) Edition.

In addition, daily hands-on activities are conducted in order to build skill and enhance knowledge gained. Near the end of the course, students participate in comprehensive activities which require team and individual efforts to accomplish the assigned "mission."

Selection Criteria:

Applicants must list hiring date on general admission application. Those who are still within their one-year requirement, or second year extension as specified by the Minimum Standards and Certification Board will be given preference.

Testing:

Examinations will be administered throughout the program. Students are encouraged to strive to make their best scores throughout the course. The course includes several fire related topics requiring the successful completion of written and practical skill exams. The student must pass with 70% in both written and skills tests to graduate the 1001 program. Testing will require the student to pass each level (Level I and Level II of

NFPA 1001).

Other:

Admission applications for Fire Fighter 1001 will be held until the applicant meets all prerequisites listed above and all documents have been submitted to the admissions office before being registered in a Fire Fighter 1001 class.

Should a student pre-registered for this course not show up prior to course start date, the entire course fee will be due (\$500). If cancellation is necessary, please cancel at a minimum of two (2) weeks prior to course start date. The Academy is designated by the Department of Veterans Affairs as a NCD (Non-College Degree) school. Funding for Fire Fighter 1001-I-II is eligible for VA educational assistance benefits for eligible students.

Students are required to provide protective clothing which meets NFPA standards. Night classes will be conducted, and weekend assignments may be issued.

FIRE FIGHTER 1001-I-II: FIELD COURSE

Course Number CC 1001-2014-F This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD.

Meets requirement set forth by NFPA 1001

Course Hours: NFPA 1001-I-II: 280 NFPA 1072: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 48 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 15 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$500 - Group A Group B \$1,185

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Date of Delivery: Can be delivered upon the Academy receiving all documents (signed contract) to conduct a field delivery

program.

Prerequisites: Successful completion of MSAT and the following eight documents must be on file with the Academy before

a Fire Fighter 1001 Applicant will be registered for a class:

- 1. An MSFA General Admission Application for Fire Fighter 1001-I-II.
- 2. A copy of a pictured driver's license or other government issued form of pictured identification showing the student is a minimum of 18 years of age. A properly notarized copy of a birth certificate may be used as evidence of meeting this requirement. The driver's license must be legible and not expire during the course delivery.
- 3. A copy of a standard high school diploma or certificate of GED notarized by the issuing institution or school board. A letter indicating the student's name, social security number and graduation date, issued by the school board will also meet the requirement for this item. A copy of a student issued transcript from a community college or four-year university transcript will also suffice for meeting the minimum requirement of standard high school diploma or certificate of GED.
- 4. A copy of a current CPR card issued from American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or equivalent. The CPR card must be signed and valid during the course delivery.
- 5. A copy of a certificate or proof of meeting the requirements of the emergency medical care prerequisite knowledge requirement as set forth by the Board or one of the following as the Board, by precedence, has approved as meeting this requirement:
 - A. Certificate of Completion for a Department of Transportation course on First Responder.
 - B. National Registration as a First Responder through the National Registry of EMT's.
 - C. National Registration as an Emergency Medical Technician Basic, Emergency Medical Technician Intermediate, or Emergency Medical Technician Paramedic through the National Registry of EMT's.
 - D. Certificate of Completion for a Department of Transportation or Department of Defense course on Emergency Medical Technician Basic.
 - E. Certificate from the Mississippi State Fire Academy indicating completion of the E-Med Course.
 - F. Certificate of Completion from the Medic First Aid Course.

- 6. A copy of properly completed Physicians Medical Examination Report (MSCB Form 4) valid for one year but must be valid from date of exam during all days of the scheduled delivery.
- 7. A copy of the Mississippi Training Agility Test Evaluation Form from the Mississippi State Fire Academy indicating successful completion.
- 8. Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations IFSAC Certification

Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations can be offered as a field delivery in conjunction with this class.

Course Description:

The Field Delivery is designed to allow the local fire department to deliver the course in a format similar to the on-campus Fire Fighter Program. Each module consists of chapters that will be independently tested in a written test format. Skills will be administered after the written examination. The skills will consist of randomly selected skills from all the chapters that are in the tested module. Classes are delivered in five modules, with one being the Haz Mat section.

Testing:

All testing is conducted at the Mississippi State Fire Academy. Testing will be done in modular format. The student must pass with a 70% or greater in both written and skills testing to graduate the NFPA 1001-I-II program. Testing will require the student to pass each level (Level I and Level II of NFPA 1001).

Other:

The Hazardous Material for First Responder is a prerequisite for the NFPA 1001-I-II program. The NFPA 1072 Field Program will be delivered in Module 1 (no exceptions). Chapter quizzes and Final Certification Examinations will be delivered on the campus of the Mississippi State Fire Academy. Successful completion of this course requires adherence to the Mississippi State Fire Academy rules and guidelines governing students, maintaining an overall course average of 70% or higher on all the chapter quizzes. Students must achieve a minimum score of 70% on all levels of Certification Examinations. Students must also achieve a minimum overall average of 70% or higher on the skills examination. If dorm is requested for testing purposes, no additional fee is required. Meals are extra if requested and available.

Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fundamentals of Firefighter Skills, Fourth (4th) Edition

FIRE OFFICER 1021-I-II

Course Number CC 1021 Meets or exceeds NFPA 1021- This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 6 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 25

Course Fee: \$615 - Group A \$1,125 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Dates of Delivery: January 22 – February 1, 2024 June 17–27, 2024

Course Description: This course is designed to enhance the knowledge and skills of future and current fire officers. It will introduce

students to various issues and situations that company officers encounter on a daily basis. The course contains

lectures, discussions, and class activities that pertain specifically to fire officer duties and responsibilities.

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001- Fire Fighter II and NFPA 1041- Fire Instructor I Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Officer I to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Officer II.

Other: Students are asked to wear fire department uniforms while attending upper-level classes. No casual attire.

Students with accessibility to laptop computers are strongly encouraged to bring them to class.

FIRE OFFICER 1021-I-II: ONLINE

Course Number CC 1021-1&2 OL Meets or exceeds NFPA 1021- This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80 Maximum Enrollment: 15

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A \$335 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Dates of Delivery: Spring Session: January 15 – April 8, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12 – November 4, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001- Fire Fighter II and NFPA 1041- Fire Instructor I Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Officer I to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Officer II.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire Officer Principles & Practices, Fourth(4th) Edition. Must be

purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIRE OFFICER 1021-II: ONLINE

Course Number CC 1021-2 OL Meets or exceeds NFPA 1021- This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 40

Maximum Enrollment: 15

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A \$335 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Spring Session: January 15 – April 8, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12 – November 4, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisites: NFPA 1021- Fire Officer I

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire Officer Principles & Practices Fourth, (4th) Edition. Must be

purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIRE OFFICER 1021-I-II: FIELD COURSE

Course Number CC 1021-F Meets or exceeds NFPA 1021. This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 8

EMS CEU Hours: 6 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$1,964 - Group A \$3,928 - Group B

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001- Fire Fighter II and NFPA 1041- Fire Instructor I Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Officer I in order to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Officer II.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire Officer Principles & Practices, Fourth (4th) Edition.

Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

Mississippi Executive Fire Officer Program / Fire Officer 1021-III-IV

Course Number CC 1021-EFO This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Meets or exceeds NFPA 1021 for Fire Officer Level III and IV

Course Hours: 200 hours
Maximum Enrollment: 15 per cycle

Course Fee: \$943 - Group A \$1,878 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Session I March 19–21, 2024 Session III July 23-25, 2024

Session II May 14-16, 2024 Session IV September 23-26, 2024

Prerequisite: NFPA 1021- Fire Officer II and NFPA 1041-Fire Instructor II

Audience: Chiefs of Departments or equivalent positions of management in the fire service (Senior Fire Instructors,

County Fire Coordinators, Officers who manage shifts, programs, or divisions, etc.)

Testing: Testing will involve the evaluation of various projects completed both on and off-campus. These

assignments will be graded on the candidate's understanding of the problem, ability to research and apply information, ability to develop viable solutions, and ability to present findings in a professional manner.

Testing will also consist of written examinations conducted during the delivery of the course.

Other: Students are asked to wear fire department uniforms while attending upper-level classes. No casual attire.

This program is writing and time sensitive. Basic writing skills are necessary to complete this course. As stated in the NFPA standard, students must be able to analyze data and communicate both orally and in writing. Students will be required to write a college paper while attending this class. ALL APPLICATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY FEBRUARY 1, 2024 IN ORDER TO BE CONSIDERED FOR THE MEFO

CLASS.

FIRE INSPECTOR 1031-I

Course Number CC 1031-I-03 Meets or exceeds NFPA 1031-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

 Course Fee:
 \$885 - Group A
 \$1,160 - Group B

 Dates of Delivery:
 July 8-18, 2024
 November 4-14, 2024

Prerequisite: None

Course Description: This course is designed to prepare the student to perform at the level of Fire Inspector I. Students gain

knowledge about development, adoption, and use of fire related codes and standards; authority, jurisdiction, and duty of a Fire Inspector; importance of code enforcement; and critical components of the Inspector's job.

The course also prepares students to research code-related problems and present accurate findings.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Inspector I to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Inspector II.

Other: Basic writing skills are necessary to complete this course. Students must be able to analyze data and

communicate both orally and in writing.

Students are asked to wear fire department uniform while attending officer-level classes. No casual attire

please.

FIRE INSPECTOR 1031-II

Course Number CC 1031-II Meets or exceeds NFPA 1031-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: \$370 - Group A \$505 - Group B

Maximum Enrollment: 16

Date of Delivery: September 30- October 3, 2024
Prerequisite: NFPA 1031- Fire Inspector I

Course Description: This course reaches deeper into the interpretation of applicable codes and standards, covers the procedures

involved in various types of inspections, and prepares the inspector for the plans review process.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Basic writing skills are necessary to complete this course. Students must be able to analyze data and

communicate both orally and in writing.

Student is responsible for textbook provided during Level I training. Call for the current edition being

utilized.

FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTOR 1041-I-II

Course Number CC 1041-L1 Meets or exceeds NFPA 1041-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80 Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$600 - Group A \$870 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Dates of Delivery: April 29–May 9, 2024 October 7–17, 2024

Prerequisite: None

Course Description: This is an advanced course designed to create a versatile Fire Service Instructor who can generate

instructional material, delivering various types of lectures utilizing audio/visual equipment, and administering

cognitive and psychomotor examinations.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Instructor I to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Instructor II.

Other: Students are asked to wear fire department uniform while attending officer-level classes. No casual attire

please.

Students with accessibility to laptop computers are strongly encouraged to bring them to class.

FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTOR 1041-III

Course Number CC 1041-3-08 Meets NFPA 1041-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 24

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$260 - Group A \$345 - Group B

Date of Delivery: September 10- 12, 2024
Prerequisite: NFPA 1041- Fire Instructor II

Course Description: This course teaches an individual how to administer a record keeping system, conduct a needs analysis,

develop budgets, design course curriculum, write course objectives, and present evaluation findings,

conclusions, and recommendations to administrative personnel. This course requires additional assignments

once classroom hours have been completed.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Students are asked to wear fire department uniform while attending officer-level classes. No casual attire

please.

Students with accessibility to laptop computers are strongly encouraged to bring them to class.

FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTOR 1041-I-II: ONLINE

Course Number CC 1041-I-OL Meets or exceeds NFPA 1041-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80 Maximum Enrollment: 15

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A \$335 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Dates of Delivery: Spring Session: January 15 – April 6, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12 – November 1, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisite: Students must pass Fire Instructor I in order to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Instructor II.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire and Emergency Services Instructor Principles and Practice,

3rd Edition. Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTOR 1041-II: ONLINE

Course Number CC 1041-2-OL Meets or exceeds NFPA 1041-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 40 Maximum Enrollment: 15

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A \$335 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Spring Session: January 15 – April 8, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12 – November 1, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisite: NFPA 1041- Fire Instructor I

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire and Emergency Services Instructor Principles and Practice

3rd Edition. Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTOR 1041-I-II: FIELD COURSE

Course Number CC 1041-L1F Meets or exceeds NFPA 1041-This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80 Maximum Enrollment: 16

Course Fee: \$1,030 - Group A \$2,060 - Group B

Prerequisite: None

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Students must pass Fire Instructor I to be eligible to meet the requirements for Fire Instructor II.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, <u>Fire and Emergency Services Instructor Principles and Practice</u>

3rd Edition. Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIRE SERVICE CHAPLAIN

Course Number CC 1575-FC

Course Hours: 16 Maximum Enrollment: 25

Course Fee: \$125 - Group A \$180 - Group B

Date of Delivery: June 11-12, 2024

Prerequisite: None

Course Description: This course is designed for any emergency response personnel who have a desire to be available for those in

need while going through difficulties. The goal of this course is to gain a better understanding of the duties

and responsibilities of the Fire Service Chaplain.

Testing: None

Other: This course does not provide any certification in any capacity.

Students are asked to wear fire department uniform while attending officer-level classes. No casual attire

please.

How to Develop and Assist in Fire Fighter Physical Fitness Programs

Course Number CC PFP-24
Course Hours: 24

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$240 - Group A \$320 - Group B

Date of Delivery: June 4-6, 2024

Prerequisite: None

Course Description: This program will offer fire personnel the opportunity to attend a 24-hour course that will reference NFPA

standards regarding annual physicals and medical assessments. This program will also discuss the nutritional

intake for firefighters, daily workout schedules, weightlifting techniques and stretches.

Testing: None

ENGINE COMPANY OPERATIONS

Course Number CC 1302
Course Hours: 40
Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$360 - Group A \$495 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: February 19–22, 2024 October 14-17, 2024

Prerequisite: Firefighter 1001-I-II and/or Certified Volunteer Firefighter Level-I

Course Description: This course is designed to provide firefighters with an in-depth understanding of engine company

operations. This course will cover several key functions of engine company operations including nozzle selection and flow characteristics, hose line selection and hose handling techniques, host stretch and hose lay characteristics, extended and bundle attack methods, blitz attack operations and tactical water supply

strategies.

Testing: None

Other: Students are required to have full personal protective clothing which meets NFPA 1971. Personal SCBA's will

not be required but are recommended for the course.

This course is for all firefighters, although it is a physically demanding course, due to multiple evolutions with

full firefighter personal protective equipment.

TRUCK COMPANY OPERATIONS

Course Number CC 1303
Course Hours: 40
Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$365 - Group A \$505 - Group B

Date of Delivery: January 22-25, 2024 December 2-5, 2024

Prerequisite: Firefighter 1001-I-II and/or Certified Volunteer Firefighter Level-I, Engine Company Operations

Course Description: This course is designed to provide firefighters with an in-depth understanding of truck company operations.

This course is NOT exclusively designed for fire department members who operate ladder trucks or aerial devices. The focus of the course will be to cover essential functions typically assigned to a truck company. This course will cover several key fire-ground functions including ventilation techniques and flow path management, forcible entry skills including through-the-lock techniques, ground ladder operations, VEIS

operations and TIC search operations.

Testing: None

Other: Students are required to have full personal protective clothing which meets NFPA 1971. Personal SCBA's will

not be required but are recommended for the course.

This course is for all firefighters, although it is a physically demanding course, due to multiple evolutions with

full firefighter personal protective equipment.

CERTIFICATION FIELD COURSES AND ONLINE DELIVERY

Contact the Certification Bureau on how to have these programs delivered in your area.

Available Field Courses: Fire Fighter 1001-I-II Fire Instructor 1041-I-II

Fire Officer 1021-I-II

*Hazardous Materials: Awareness & Operations only in association with Fire Fighter 1001-I-II

Online Programs Include: Fire Instructor 1041-I-II Fire Instructor 1041-II

Fire Officer 1021-I-II Fire Officer 1021 -II

EMERGENCY MEDICAL RESPONDER (HYBRID)

Course Number CC EMR-H

Course Hours: 69 Total Hours: 3 Total days @ MSFA campus, 45 hours didactic

(MSFA Blackboard Learning System)

Course Length: 11 Weeks

Maximum Enrollment: 88
Course Fee: \$100

Dates of Delivery: February 3 - April 27, 2024 August 3 - October 12, 2024

Pre-requisite: Have a current CPR-BLS for "Healthcare Provider" or equivalent credential.

Course Description: The Emergency Medical Responder course prepares the student to provide prehospital assessment and care

for patients of all ages with a variety of medical conditions and traumatic injuries. Areas of study include an introduction to emergency medical services systems, roles, and responsibilities of EMRs, anatomy and physiology, medical emergencies, trauma, and special considerations for working in the prehospital setting.

Testing: Successful completion of this course requires maintaining a course average of 75 %, achieving a minimum

score of 75% on the course final examination, and successfully demonstrating all required skills at 75% or

greater.

EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN/BASIC (HYBRID)

Course Number: CCEMT

Course Hours: Didactic hours: 136 hours

Course Length: 15 Weeks: 11 weeks online, 4 weeks at MSFA (Mon, Tues, Wed, & Thursday)

Clinical hours: 12 hours emergency room and 36 hours minimum at a local EMS transport provider while obtaining at least

eight (8) patient care reports/ transports.

Maximum Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$600

Dates of Delivery: February 5 – May 16, 2024 September 30, 2024 - January 15, 2025

Pre-requisite: Documentation of all pre-requisites are required before week 1 class session.

become matter of all pre requisites are required before week 1 class session.

- Proof of Background Check, drug screening, health insurance and worker's comp
- Current CPR card
- TB skin Test within 90 days of first clinical, Hepatitis-B vaccine started.
- Other vaccinations requirements are dependent upon clinical site. (e.g., MMR, Varicella, Covid)

Course Description: The Emergency Medical Technician course prepares the firefighter for prehospital assessment and care for

patients of all ages with a variety of medical conditions and traumatic injuries. This course may include assigned readings, discussions, online quizzes, skills labs, and hospital and ambulance clinical rotations. This course incorporates 11 weeks of online learning and 4 weeks of on campus learning, skills, and testing at the

Mississippi Fire Academy.

Testing:

Successful completion of this course requires maintaining a course average of 75 % for all chapter test to qualify to take the FISDAP Final Exam. The student will be given 2 attempts on the FISDAP exam to earn a minimum 70% score. The student also must successfully complete all required NREMT-Basic psychomotor skill competencies and documented required clinical hours prior to graduating. All students meeting these criteria will then be considered Eligible to take the NREMT cognitive exam.

EMERGENCY MEDICAL TECHNICIAN/ADVANCED (HYBRID)

Course Number CCEMT A

Course Hours: Total of 456 online, classroom/lecture hours

Course Length: 13 Weeks Total: 5 Weeks online, 8 weeks at MSFA (Mon, Tues, Wed, & Thursday)
48 hours emergency room. 24 hours field clinical rides at a transporting agency.

Max Enrollment: 16 Students

Course Fee: \$900

Dates of Delivery: May 20 - August 15, 2024

Pre-requisite: Documentation of all pre-requisites are required by end of class session on May 23, 2024

- Proof of Background Check, drug screening, health insurance and worker's comp
- Current CPR card
- TB skin Test within 90 days of first clinical, Hepatitis-B vaccine started.
- Other vaccinations requirements are dependent upon clinical site. (e.g., MMR, Varicella, Covid)

Course Description:

This program is for firefighter EMT/ B that desires to provide basic and limited advanced emergency medical care and transportation for patients who access the emergency medical system. Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians function as part of a comprehensive EMS response and possess the training and skills to perform life-saving interventions. The MSFA's Advanced EMT (AEMT) program is designed to prepare the student for the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician's Advanced EMT Exam.

Testing.

Successful completion of this course requires maintaining a course average of 75 % for all chapter test to qualify to take the FISDAP Final Exam. The student will be given 2 attempts on the FISDAP exam to earn a minimum 70% score. The student also must successfully complete all required NREMT-Advanced psychomotor skill competencies and documented required clinical hours prior to graduating. All students meeting these criteria will then be considered Eligible to take the NREMT cognitive exam.

EMS FIELD CLASSES: EMR/ EMT-B/EMT-ADVANCED

Course Number:CC EMR-FCC EMT-FCC EMT-A-FCourse Hours:69136200Course Fee:\$100\$600\$900

Minimum Enrollment: 8

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer. Classes will be conducted at the host Fire Departments

training center.

Course Description: The Field Delivery EMR/ EMT-B/ AEMT Classes are designed to allow fire departments to deliver the courses

in a format similar to the on-campus classes. Each module consists of chapters that will be independently tested in a written format. Psychomotor skills will be administered after successful completion of the written

examination.

Testing: All Testing is conducted through the Mississippi State Fire Academy. Successful completion of these courses

will mirror that of an on-campus (Hybrid) class.

EMS REFRESHER

Course Number: CC EMR-18 CC EMT-27 CC EMT-36

Course Hours: 18/27/36

Course Fee: \$18/\$27/\$36

Max Enrollment: 100

Campus Delivery: January 15-18, 2024

Field Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: The National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) was constructed using methodology similar to that of

the American Board of Medical Specialties requirements and streamlines the national recertification process

into three strategic categories of continuing education: National, Local, and Individual.

Testing: This course is designed to take the EMR, EMT-B, EMT-A, and EMT-P through 2-4 days of national, state, and

local continuing education hours in required topics for recertification. The recertifying student will still be required to obtain any other individual topics or other required classes by NREMT to maintain their "current"

status.

ADVANCED CARDIAC LIFE SUPPORT (ACLS) INSTRUCTOR

Course Number: CC 193-IN
Course Hours: 8 hours
Course Length: 1 Day
Max Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$35

Dates of Delivery: February 12, 2024 September 16, 2024

Pre-requisite: The instructor candidate must hold a current AHA ACLS certification through AHA, be proficient in all skills,

and must be a licensed or certified healthcare professional with ACLS skills in their scope of practice

(examples include paramedic, MD, RN, NP, PA).

Course Description: The course educates participants on how to adequately use instructor teaching materials, ensure that

students meet learning objectives, offer student coaching skills, provide an objective skills performance

evaluation, and understand AHA instructor policies to effectively train others in ACLS.

Attendees will be required to purchase an ACLS instructor package. This package contains an ACLS instructor manual, ACLS provider manual, and ACLS instructional DVD set, ACLS poster set, and ACLS crash

cart card set. This is available through AHA website upon course completion.

Testing: Successful Instructor candidates must pass a multiple-choice exam with a minimum score of 84% and

demonstrate proficiency in all skills.

ADVANCED CARDIAC LIFE SUPPORT – ACLS PROVIDER COURSE

Course Number: CC 193-R

Course Hours: ACLS Renewal Course takes approximately 15 hours and 25 minutes with breaks.

Course Length: 2 Days
Max Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$10

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: For healthcare professionals who either direct or participate in the management of cardiopulmonary arrest

or other cardiovascular emergencies and for personnel in emergency response. For those who are proficient in performing BLS and ACLS skills, reading and interpreting ECGs, understanding ACLS pharmacology; and who regularly lead or participate in emergency assessment and treatment of pre-arrest, arrest, or post-arrest

patients.

Testing: To enter the course, students must complete the ACLS Pre-Course Self-Assessment. Successful completion of

the exam with a minimum score of 84% prior to class with printed copy of Test scores.

Completion: ACLS provider card awarded and valid for two years.

BASIC LIFE SUPPORT (BLS) FOR HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS- INSTRUCTOR

Course Number: CC BLS-I
Course Hours: 8 hours
Course Length: 1 Day
Max Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$35

Dates of Delivery: January 29,2024 January 30, 2024 September 18, 2024

Pre-requisite: The instructor candidate must hold a current AHA BLS certification and be proficient in all skills.

Course Description: The course educates participants on how to adequately use instructor teaching materials, ensure that

students meet learning objectives, offer student coaching skills, provide an objective skills performance

evaluation, and understand AHA instructor policies to effectively train others in BLS.

Testing: Successful Instructor candidates must pass a multiple-choice exam with a minimum score of 84% and demonstrate proficiency in all skills. Attendees will be required to purchase an BLS instructor package. This package contains an ACLS instructor manual, BLS provider manual, and BLS instructional DVD set, BLS poster set, and BLS crash cart card set. This is available through AHA website upon course completion.

BASIC LIFE SUPPORT (BLS) FOR HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS

Course Number: CC BLS-3

Course Hours: BLS renewal course takes approximately 4 hours to complete, including skills practice and testing.

Completion: BLS completion card awarded and valid for two years.

Max Enrollment: 20 Course Fee: \$10

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: The American Heart Association's BLS course trains participants to promptly recognize several life-

threatening emergencies, give high-quality chest compressions, deliver appropriate ventilations and provide early use of an AED. BLS is geared towards prehospital providers, including EMTs, paramedics, fire fighters,

and in-facility hospital providers.

PEDIATRIC ADVANCED LIFE SUPPORT (PALS)-INSTRUCTOR

Course Number: CC 192-IN
Course Hours: 8 hours
Course Length: 1 Day
Max Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$35

Dates of Delivery: February 19, 2024 September 23, 2024

Pre-requisite: The instructor candidate must hold a current AHA PALS certification through AHA, be proficient in all skills,

and must be a licensed or certified healthcare professional with ACLS skills in their scope of practice

(examples include paramedic, MD, RN, NP, PA).

Course Description: The course educates participants on how to adequately use instructor teaching materials, ensure that

students meet learning objectives, offer student coaching skills, provide an objective skills performance

evaluation, and understand AHA instructor policies to effectively train others in ACLS.

Attendees will be required to purchase a PALS instructor package. This package contains a PALS instructor manual, PALS provider manual, and PALS instructional DVD set, PALS poster set, and PALS crash cart card

set. This is available through AHA website upon course completion.

Testing: Successful Instructor candidates must pass a multiple-choice exam with a minimum score of 84% and

demonstrate proficiency in all skills.

PEDIATRIC ADVANCED LIFE SUPPORT (PROVIDER COURSE)

Course Number: CC 192
Course Hours: 14 hours
Course Length: 2 Days
Max Enrollment: 20
Course Fee: \$10

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: The goal of the PALS Course is to improve the quality of care provided to seriously ill or injured children,

resulting in improved outcomes. To enter the course, students must complete the PALS Pre-course Self-Assessment. Throughout the course, students are presented with 12 In-hospital pediatric patient cases and a

team dynamics lesson.

Testing: To enter the course, students must complete the PALS Pre-Course Self-Assessment. Successful completion of

the exam with a minimum score of 84% prior to class with printed copy of Test scores.

TACTICAL COMBAT CASUALTY CARE (TCCC)

Course Number: CC 191-TC

Course Hours: 16-hours of classroom course for military medical personnel including: medics, corpsmen, and pararescue

personnel deploying in support of combat operations.

Max Enrollment: 20 Course Fee: \$50

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: Tactical Combat Casualty Care (TCCC) is created by the U.S. Department of Defense Committee on TCCC

(Co-TCCC) to teach evidence-based, life-saving techniques and strategies for providing the best trauma care on the battlefield. NAEMT conducts TCCC courses as specified by the Co-TCCC's guidelines and curriculum.

Testing: Pre-test and Post-test

TACTICAL EMERGENCY CASUALTY CARE (TECC)

Course Number: CC 191-EC

Course Hours: 16-hour classroom course

Max Enrollment: 20 Course Fee: \$50

Dates of Delivery: March 11,-12, 2024 October 14-15, 2024

Course Description: The second edition of NAEMT's Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC) course teaches EMS practitioners,

law enforcement officers, and other prehospital providers how to respond to and care for patients in a civilian tactical environment. The course covers the following topics: Hemorrhage control (with immediate

action drills for tourniquet application throughout the course), complete coverage of the MARCH

assessment, surgical airway control, needle decompression, strategies for treating wounded responders in threatening environments, caring for pediatric patients, and techniques for dragging and carrying victims to safety. The course concludes with a written final exam and a mass-casualty/active shooter event simulation.

Testing: Post-test

TECC FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS (TECC-LEO)

Course Number: 191-LEO

Course Hours: 8-hour classroom course

Max Enrollment: 20 Course Fee: \$25

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 (minimum) days prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer

Course Description: An 8-hour classroom course specifically designed for law enforcement officers and other non-EMS first

responders. The course covers materials found in the 16-hour TECC provider course at a level appropriate for first responders. It includes 8 hours of content, which includes interactive lectures, skills stations, and patient simulations. Upon successful completion of the course, students receive a certificate of completion, a wallet card recognizing them as a TECC-LEO provider for 4 years, and 8 hours of CAPCE credit for qualified

participants.

Testing: Post-test

FIRST ON THE SCENE

Course Number: 195-4

Course Hours: 4-hour classroom course

Max Enrollment: 20

Dates of Delivery: Online Course Request form completed and emailed to msfamed@msfa.ms.gov 30 days (minimum) prior to

class start date from the department Training Officer.

Course Description: First on the Scene (FOTS), developed by NAEMT and the International Association of Fire Chiefs

(IAFC), provides instructors with a toolkit to teach the general public basic emergency response to life-threatening emergencies until EMS arrives on the scene. Through lesson presentations and hands-on skill stations, participants will learn how to access help in the event of a life-threatening emergency and what to

do until EMS arrives.

This course covers: Activating the 911 system

Hands-only CPR and AED Administering naloxone Administering epinephrine

Responding to life-threatening bleeding

Penetrating chest trauma Moving patients to safety Positioning injured patients.

The Extension Services Bureau continues to strive our best to train career and volunteer fire fighters all over the state. We provide many classes in the field and on campus for your benefit and the benefit of our citizens. We want to encourage those that are currently on the job to help us find more fire fighters throughout the state to join your respective departments. If you have questions about any of the courses we offer, please contact us and talk to one of our many instructors to help guide you through your training endeavor.

Our full time and adjunct instructor staff have worked hard this year to revise and add new regional fire schools throughout the state. You will find those at the end of this section. Please make note of the LP Burn locations and Fire Fighter Field days so that you can come join us on those dates.

We look forward to serving you in the next year and hope we can continue to provide the training you need for your department. You may also contact your County Fire Coordinator for training opportunities and information.

**IMPORTANT-EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024, FIRE FIGHTERS WHO ATTEND THE VOLUNTEER CERTIFICATION PROGRAM WILL BE REQUIRED TO COME ON CAMPUS TO TEST SKILLS. THIS CHANGE HAS BEEN MADE THROUGH OUR NEW ADMINISTRATION AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF FIRE FIGHTERS THROUGHOUT THE STATE.

Shannon Sandridge, Instructor Chief ssandridge@msfa.ms.gov 601-932-2444

DRIVER/OPERATOR NFPA 1002: PUMPER APPARATUS

Course Number EC 1002 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 8 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$675 - Group A \$945 - Group B

This course qualifies for funding through the Workforce Development program for Group A only.

Dates of Delivery: April 8-18, 2024 May 13-23, 2024

August 12-22, 2024 September 23-October 3, 2024

Prerequisite: NFPA 1001 Firefighter I-II or Certified Volunteer Fire Fighter-I Testing: Students must participate in ALL written and skill testing.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Students are required to provide protective clothing which meets NFPA standards, a valid driver's license,

and a hand-held calculator. Some activities may be conducted at night.

DRIVER/OPERATOR NFPA 1002: PUMPER APPARATUS FIELD EVALUATION

Course Number EC 1002-F This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 8 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$1,964 - Group A \$3,928 - Group B

*The local coordinator may alter course schedule provided it is approved by Academy course coordinator.

Prerequisite: NFPA 1001Firefighter I-II or Certified Volunteer Fire Fighter-I

Hand-held calculator is required for each student

Daily classroom subjects and activities include:

Types of Apparatus Apparatus Check-Out & Maintenance Driving Fire Apparatus

Water The Fire Pump Emergency Vehicle Driving

Fire Hose, Appliances, & Nozzles Mathematics for the Driver Operator Fireground Operations

Performance Testing Relay Pump Operations Foam

Drafting & Water Shuttle Operations

DRIVER/OPERATOR NFPA 1002: AERIAL APPARATUS FIELD EVALUATION

Course Number EC 1002-AAF This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 8 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$982 - Group A \$1,964 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Available upon request
Prerequisite: NFPA 1001 Firefighter I-II

AIRPORT FIRE FIGHTER NFPA - 1003

Course Number EC 1003 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Meets or exceeds NFPA 1003

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 24 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 25

Course Fee: \$877 per student

Dates of Delivery: February 26-March 7 2024 October 28-November 7, 2024

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001 Fire Fighter I-II and NFPA 472 Hazardous Materials Operations

AIRCRAFT RESCUE & FIRE FIGHTER REFRESHER

Course Numbers EC-060-3C EC-060-6C EC-060-8C EC-060-24C Course Hours: 3-hour format 6-hour format 8-hour format 24-hour format **EMS CEU Hours:** 1.5 hours 12 hours 3 hours 4 hours \$450/student Course Fee: \$205/student \$315/student \$385/student

Dorm Extra \$17/night for any format

Dates of Delivery: Contact Extension Services for scheduled dates or to receive a printed brochure. Special requested dates

may be available.

Prerequisite: NFPA 1001 Fire Fighter I or Certified Volunteer Fire Fighter Level I

Other: Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

FIRE INVESTIGATOR 1033

Course Number CC 1033 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Meets or exceeds NFPA 1033

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 25

Course Fee: \$640 - Group A \$905 - Group B

Date of Delivery: March 18-28, 2024 June 10-20, 2024

Prerequisite: None

MISSISSIPPI COUNTY FIRE INVESTIGATOR

Course Number CC-CFAI
Course Hours: 32

EMS CEU Hours: 2 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: \$340

(\$100 for one (1) appointed county fire investigator per county with a letter from the Sheriff. Must be attached to the application stating the name of the applicant appointed as the county investigator for this

fee to apply. Otherwise, the fee will be the Group A fee.)

Dates of Delivery: February 5-8, 2024

MISSISSIPPI COUNTY FIRE INVESTIGATOR: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE

Course Number CC CFAI-8

Course Hours: 8

EMS CEU Hours: 2 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: None. If on campus, students may request dorm at \$17 per night and/or meals at \$12 per day.

Dates of Delivery: March 14, 2024 Lafayette Co. F.D. Central Station (Oxford)

June 6, 2024 Mississippi State Fire Academy

October 10, 2024 Hattiesburg Fire/Police Training Academy

Note: Each county investigator will be required to attend one in-service per year. The date to attend will be your

choice. No Academy application is needed to attend this course unless requesting dorm. The investigator needs to have attended the County Fire Investigator course or had some other training in fire investigation

prior to attending the in-service.

Public Information Officer 1035 (Online Only)

Course Number CC PIO-10 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Meets or exceeds NFPA 1035

Course Hours: 40
Prerequisite: None

Delivery: Spring Session: January 15, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

\$175 – Group A Online \$335 - Group B Online

Note: Course manual not included

HUMAN TRAFFICKING AWARENESS FOR FIRST RESPONDERS

Course Number EC 330-2
Course Hours: 2

EMS CEU Hours: 2 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services

Course Fee: No Fee

Date of Delivery: Contact Extension Services to request a delivery

Course Description: This course is designed to provide emergency responders with the knowledge to understand what human

trafficking is, where it happens, and how it happens: recognize the signs of labor and sex trafficking: understand what to do to stay safe: understand reporting responsibilities and how to report suspected

human trafficking to the proper authorities.

FIRE & LIFE SAFETY EDUCATION (FLSE) - NFPA 1035

This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

FIRE & LIFE SAFETY EDUCATOR 1035-I (ONLINE ONLY)

Course Number EC FLSE-1

Course Hours: 20

Course Fee: \$175 – Group A Online \$335 – Group B Online

Delivery: Spring Session: January 15, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023 Fall Session: August 12, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisites: None

Note: Course manual not included.

INSTRUCTOR CHIEF SHANNON SANDRIDGE

FIRE & LIFE SAFETY EDUCATOR 1035-II (ONLINE ONLY)

Course Number EC FLSE-2

Course Hours: 20

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A Online \$335 - Group B Online

Delivery: Spring Session: January 15, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisites: FLSE Level-I Note:

Note: Course manual not included

FIRE & LIFE SAFETY EDUCATOR 1035-III (ONLINE ONLY)

Course Number EC 1035-L3

Course Hours: 20

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A Online \$335 - Group B Online

Delivery: Spring Session: January 15, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisites: FLSE Level-I, FLSE Level-II
Note: Course manual not included

FIRE DEPARTMENT SAFETY OFFICER 1521: ONLINE

PRE-PAYMENT REQUIRED TO BE PLACED IN CLASS

Course Number CC 1521-OL This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 48

EMS CEU Hours: 16 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 15

Course Fee: \$175 - Group A \$335 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Spring Session: January 15, 2024 Registration Deadline: December 28, 2023

Fall Session: August 12, 2024 Registration Deadline: July 31, 2024

Prerequisite: NFPA 1021-I-II- Fire Officer II, NFPA 1041-I- Fire Instructor I

Course Description: This course is designed to prepare the student to perform the duties and responsibilities of an Incident

Safety Officer at a variety of emergencies. This textbook provides valuable information pertaining to several topics including reading: buildings, smoke, risk, hazardous energy and firefighters. In addition, it provides specific information to be utilized by the ISO at structure fires, wildland and ground cover fires, hazardous

materials incidents, and technical rescue incidents.

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire Department Incident Safety Officer, Revised Third (3rd)

Edition. Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

Purchase Order or Payment must be submitted with application. All fees are non-refundable.

INSTRUCTOR CHIEF SHANNON SANDRIDGE

FIRE DEPARTMENT SAFETY OFFICER 1521: FIELD DELIVERY

Course Number CC 1521-99F This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 48

EMS CEU Hours: 16 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$1030 - Group A \$2060 - Group B

Prerequisite: NFPA 1021-I-II- Fire Officer II, NFPA 1041-I – Fire Instructor I

Testing: Testing will consist of written and skills evaluations.

Other: Does Not Include Manual: Jones & Bartlett, Fire Department Incident Safety Officer, Revised Third (3rd)

Edition. Must be purchased before first day of class (Books not available for purchase at MSFA).

FIREGROUND SKILLS REFRESHER

Course Number EC FGR-4

Course Hours: 4

EMS CEU Hours: 2 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10 or a \$1000 minimum charge if less than 10

Course Fee: \$100 (per track chosen) Dorm \$17 per night if requested

Delivery: Contact Extension Services to request a delivery

Prerequisite: Fire Fighter 1001 or Mississippi Volunteer Fire Fighter-I

LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS TACTICS & LIVE FIRE DRILL

Course Number EC 550 Course Hours: 6

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: This program is funded by the Mississippi LC Gas Board

Dates of Delivery: Locations: Dates of Delivery: Locations: April 29, 30 City of Gulfport April 30, May 1 City of Gulfport Neshoba County September 9, 10 Leake County September 10, 11 October 14, 15 **Bolivar County** October 15, 16 Lafayette County

Time: 6:00 p.m. for the lecture

Other: Full PPE is required. Students must furnish NFPA approved full protective clothing. Only students who attend

the classroom presentation are allowed to participate in the live fire training exercise. Attendance is open to

all public emergency response personnel and personnel directly associated with delivery, storage, or

transportation of LP Gas.

Note: Due to Covid-19, SCBA's will no longer be provided to students because of contamination and

sanitation issues. Students are welcome to bring their own if available.

Must have minimum 20 students for live burn.

MISSISSIPPI CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER FIRE FIGHTER PROGRAM

Application for Certificate Fee: \$2.50

This program involves seven individual steps for students to receive this certification.

The following courses must be completed:

Mississippi Volunteer Fire Fighter I: Modules 1 & 2
 Mississippi Volunteer Fire Fighter II
 Hazardous Materials Awareness-NFPA 1072
 6 total hours

- Medical Training: The candidate must submit proof of completing the required Emergency Medical Care training and a current CPR card. This form can be obtained from the VFF program coordinator.
- NIMS 100 course (must show documentation)
- NIMS 200 course (must show documentation)
- NIMS 700 course (must show documentation)

MISSISSIPPI CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER FIRE FIGHTER I -MODULE 1

Course Number EC MVFF-M1

Course Hours:

EMS CEU Hours: 16 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Prerequisite: Must be at least 18 years old

This course is administered through an instructor approved by the County Fire Coordinator. Contact Extension Services to schedule.

MISSISSIPPI CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER FIRE FIGHTER | -**MODULE 2 (SKILLS EXAM)**

Course Number EC MVFF-M2

Course Hours: EMS CEU Hours: 4

Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services. No Fee - Group A

Course Fee: Test Date:

\$80 - Group B Application Deadline:

April 27, 2024 September 21, 2024 April 12, 2024 September 6, 2024

November 9, 2024

October 25, 2024

Module 2 is the skills exam administered at the Mississippi State Fire Academy. Testing begins at 8:00 a.m. Participants must have completed Module 1 within the last 12 months.

MISSISSIPPI CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER FIRE FIGHTER !

Course Number EC MCV-II

Course Hours: 38

EMS CEU Hours: Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services. 6

Mississippi Volunteer Fire Fighter-I Prerequisite:

CERTIFIED FIREGROUND RESOURCE TECHNICIAN

Course Number **EC CFRT**

Course Hours: 45

EMS CEU Hours: Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Contact Extension Services to schedule.

INSTRUCTOR CHIEF SHANNON SANDRIDGE

CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER DRIVER OPERATOR

This is a non-IFSAC and non-PROBOARD course.

Contact Extension Services to schedule.

CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER DRIVER OPERATOR: I

Course Number EC 1002-V1

Course Hours: 32 Maximum Enrollment: 20

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001 Firefighter-I or Volunteer Firefighter Level-I or Certified Fireground Resource Technician

CERTIFIED VOLUNTEER DRIVER OPERATOR: ||

Course Number EC 1002-V2

Course Hours: 32 Maximum Enrollment: 20

Prerequisites: NFPA 1001 Firefighter-I or Volunteer Firefighter Level-I or Certified Fireground Resource Technician

MISSISSIPPI VOLUNTEER FIRE OFFICER-I

Course Number EC VFO-I
Course Hours: 40

Delivery Date: Contact Extension Services to schedule.

Prerequisite: Volunteer Fire Fighter 1001

MISSISSIPPI VOLUNTEER FIRE OFFICER-II

Course Number EC VFO-II

Course Hours: 40

Delivery Date Contact Extension Services to schedule.

Prerequisite: Mississippi Volunteer Fire Officer Level I

FIRE FIGHTER FIELD DAY

[FOR ALL FIRE SERVICE PERSONNEL]

Course Number EC FFD-6

Course Hours: 6

<u>Dates of Delivery:</u> <u>Application Deadline:</u> <u>Course Start Time</u>

May 18, 2024 May 3, 2024 8:00 a.m.
October 12, 2024 September 27, 2024 8:00 a.m.

PASSENGER BUS RESCUE & INCIDENT MANAGEMENT

(FIELD DELIVERY)

Course Number EC 022-8C

Course Hours: 8

EMS CEU Hours: 8 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 30 Minimum Enrollment: 20 Course Fee: \$1,030 - Group A \$2,060 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: Contact the Extension Services Bureau for information concerning hosting this course in your community as

a special course offering for your personnel.

Other: Host organization must provide one (1) school bus body and extrication tools to be used in outside skill

evolutions.

The bus will be used for extrication training and will be totally destroyed.

NATIONAL FIRE ACADEMY PROGRAMS

Through its courses and programs, the National Fire Academy (NFA) works to enhance the ability of fire and emergency services and allied professionals to deal effectively with fire and related emergencies. The Academy's delivery system is diverse. Courses are delivered throughout the state with local fire training organizations and local colleges and universities.

TO REGISTER FOR NFA COURSE DELIVERED IN THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

No course fee, however, you must pre-register through the MSFA/NFA coordinator or local host contact to ensure reserved seating.

A National Fire Academy course attendance request application must be received by the Mississippi State Fire Academy's Admission Office no later than 40 days prior to the scheduled class delivery if delivered on campus.

Classes are subject to cancellation or rescheduling by the NFA.

Minimum and maximum enrollment policies may be enforced by the NFA.

\$17 per night dorm fee for on-campus courses.

If weekday, meals \$12 per day extra.

Meals will not be served during weekend classes.

NOTE: Students attending National Fire Academy courses must have completed IS-200 levels of training (or equivalent).

All locations and dates may be subject to change. Registered students will be notified of changes.

NATIONAL FIRE ACADEMY COURSES Contact Extension Services

REGIONAL TRAINING COURSES

The Mississippi State Fire Academy hosts free regional training throughout the year in all Mississippi counties. Additionally, the courses listed below are available to all career and volunteer departments within the state. These courses are regularly reviewed and updated by the MSFA staff. For a current listing of regional classes being conducted in your area visit our website or to deliver any of these classes within your own department contact Extension Services.

*This offering has been approved for EMS continuing education credit by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Protecting Yourself from the Enemy-NEW!!! Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills - 50%

A course that will enhance the knowledge of a trained fire fighter in protecting themselves in the face of danger. The student will understand how the enemy behaves in certain situations and methods to protect yourself and your partner. It will also focus on the importance of 2 in 2 out and protecting your team.

Initial Care Actions for First Responders-NEW!!! Classroom – 50% Practical/Skills – 50%

This course covers the legal and ethical processes for first responders to act in an emergency. It will also focus on initial care of medical patients, patient assessment methodology, and Cardio-Pulmonary resuscitation overview.

EC 1003-12 Introduction to Aircraft Rescue & Firefighting Classroom - 75% Practical/Skills - 25%

All Fire Service Personnel

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: TBD

This course was designed for structural fire fighters to give a basic knowledge of how to safely mitigate an accident involving general aviation aircraft whether on or off airport property. Covering such topics as Airport Familiarization, Aircraft Familiarization, Safety/Hazards, Communications, Extinguishing Agents, ARFF Apparatus, Fire Suppression, Ventilation, Overhaul, Emergency Planning, and Strategic and Tactical Operations. Activities included.

EC 066 Search and Rescue for Disaster Responses Classroom - 75% Practical/Skills - 25%

Fire Fighter - I Level Course Hours: 12

This course is designed to provide emergency responders with search and rescue skills for responding to disasters such as tornados and hurricanes. This course will review several components in the NFPA 1006 standard and will give students the information needed to perform wide area searches.

EC 067 Fire Attack for the Modern Era Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills - 50%

Fire Fighter - I Level Course Hours: 12

This course will review the newest research performed by NIST and UL. It will include lessons in critical flow rates, hose line techniques and nozzle handling techniques. This course will also review several tactical considerations for fighting structural fires in the modern era.

EC 009 Mississippi Fire Fighter Safety Classroom - 75% Practical/Skills - 25%

Fire Fighter - I-II Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 4

This course is designed to allow students to focus on issues that affect them and their fire departments. It is not a course about general safety issues. Students are required to look at areas where they must take more responsibility for their safety and the safety of their department members. The course also covers the most recent fire fighter deaths in Mississippi.

EC-FFCS-12 Firefighter Cancer & Cancer Survival Awareness Classroom - 100%

Practical - 0%

ALL Fire Service Personnel

Course Hours: 12

This course is designed to help ALL responders recognize the dangers and focus on cancer awareness in the fire service. This course will cover general firefighter statistics, importance of maintaining PPE, and show different ways firefighters can help reduce cancer within their department(s). Created by responders for responders the ultimate goal of this approach is to train the entire nation's responder community in their personal safety.

EC 096 Rapid Intervention Teams

Classroom - 25%

Practical - 75%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: 4

This course is designed to prepare fire fighters for "Operations" level RIT duties. It combines both "Awareness" and "Operations" level training for participants who have minimal experience in RIT work, and can be adapted to be utilized for students with various levels of RIT experience.

EC 150-1 Engine Company Operations-Part 1

Classroom - 75%

Practical - 25%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: 3

This course is designed to give the engine company fire fighter the knowledge, skills, and abilities to function safely and efficiently on a fire scene. This class provides an overview of the duties expected on the fireground with an emphasis on safety. Part 1 of this course addresses: Apparatus Positioning, Rescue, Water Supply, and Initial Attack Lines. The course references the textbook Engine Company Fireground Operations, Third Edition NFPA, Harold Richman, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, ISBN-13: 978-07637-4495-3.

EC 150-2 Engine Company Operations-Part 2

Classroom - 75%

Practical - 25%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: 3

This course is designed to give the engine company fire fighter the knowledge, skills, and abilities to function safely and efficiently on a fire scene. This class provides an overview of the duties expected on the fireground with an emphasis on safety. Part 2 of this course addresses: Backup Lines, Exposure Problems, Master Stream Appliances, Fire Protection Systems, and Overhaul. The course references the textbook Engine Company Fireground Operations, Third Edition NFPA, Harold Richman, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, ISBN-13: 978-07637-4495-3.

EC 003 Fireground Support Operations

Classroom - 50%

Practical - 50%

Fire Fighter - I-II Level

Course Hours: 12

This course focuses on the very important operations used in conjunction with fire attack procedures to achieve fire suppression and control. Classroom presentations include: Fire Behavior, Ventilation, Ladders, Salvage and Overhaul, Forcible Entry, and Power Tools. Demonstrations and simulations provide practical experience for the participants.

EC 007 The Fire Apparatus Driver

Classroom - 75%

Practical - 25%

Fire Fighter -I-II Level

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: 6

This course is designed to address the everyday challenges of driving a fire apparatus. Subjects covered include: Fire Apparatus Inspection and Maintenance, Operating Emergency Vehicles, Positioning and Spotting the Fire Apparatus, and Recent Incidents Involving Fire Apparatus in Mississippi. Activities include basic operation of a fire apparatus (if allowed by hosting department).

915-M1 Basic Apparatus Pump Operator Classroom - 50% Practical - 50%

Fire Fighter -II Level Course Hours: 12 Hours

Designed to present the fundamentals of pump operation, this course provides the student with the knowledge necessary to become an efficient pump operator. Covering such topics as Pump Design and Maintenance, Pump Types, Hydraulics, Fire Flow, and Pump Operation, this course prepares the student for the critical role of a pump operator on the fire ground.

EC 915-M2 Apparatus Pump Operator for Mobile Water Supply Classroom - 50% Practical - 50%

Fire Fighter -II Level Course Hours: 12

A course designed to cover water supply in rural areas where water shuttle is necessary. It covers many aspects of the use of a mobile water supply including tanker design, water sources, delivery rates, shuttle techniques and operations. A demonstration utilizing local equipment provides a practical display of the concept.

EC 011 Hazardous Materials: Initial Response Classroom - 60% Practical - 40%

Fire Fighter - I Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 12

This course covers material outlined in NFPA 472 and OSHA 29 CFR 1910.120 for initial response and action in emergency operations awareness and operational levels. Classroom presentations cover Recognition and Identification of Hazardous Materials, Initial Response Procedures, Safety Zones, Personal Protective Equipment, and Decontamination.

EC 012 Automobile Extrication Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills - 50%

Fire Fighter - I Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 12

This course is an excellent guide to the basic methods of auto extrication, covering the subjects of scene safety and stabilization, patient care, and actual extrication techniques. The student is exposed to various methods and tools needed to perform an extrication. Handson practical demonstrations allow the students to utilize the local equipment in performing simulated rescues. A special thanks to the New Albany Fire Department for video demonstrations used in this course.

EC 041 Training, Responding and Returning Home Alive Classroom - 80% Practical/Skills - 20%

Fire Fighter - I & II Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 8

This course is not a typical safety and survival course. It is very interactive. This course allows the students to measure how much progress we (Mississippi fire fighters) have made in being able to survive the dangers of firefighting. It also allows students to look at themselves and determine whether they are part of the problem or part of the solution. NIMS issues are included in the unit addressing incident safety. Other subjects include Fire Department Risk Management, Vehicle Response and Highway Safety, Keeping Training Safe, and Our Survival Challenge in Mississippi.

EC 041 The 10 Commandments of Effective and Safe Fireground Management - Classroom - 100%

Fire fighter – I & II Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 8

EC 151 Understanding the Role of the Incident Safety Officer Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills-50%

Fire Fighter - II Level Course Hours: 12 *EMS CEU Hours: 12

This course is designed to give fire fighters the opportunity to learn about the responsibilities of the Incident Safety Officer and what fire fighters can do to support the function of the safety officer at all types of incidents. Students should have a thorough understanding of the Incident Command System (ICS). The course will allow great opportunities for departments to address previous incident safety issues and be proactive for possible future incidents.

EC 160-PA Managing the Rural Emergency and Personal Accountability

Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills-50%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 12

This course is designed to merge the Incident Command System with the 2-in-2-out rule. Appropriate for career or volunteer departments in rural or urban settings, classroom sessions involve activities focusing on command responsibilities, staff position roles, and most importantly, fire fighter accountability.

EC 152 Strategies for Fire Fighter Personal Success

Classroom - 50% Practical/Skills - 50%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 12

*EMS CEU Hours: 2

This course provides the company officer, or future company officer, with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course addresses Ethics Use and Abuse of Power at the Company Officer Level, Creativity in the Fire Service Environment, and Management of the Multiple Roles of the Company Officer. The course can be especially useful for departments to prepare personnel to eventually advance to higher ranks such as lieutenant, captain, assistant chief, training officer, and fire chief.

EC 153-1 Fire Fighter Essential Skills – I

Classroom- 25% Practical/Skills 75%

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes fire fighter safety and health, PPE, communications, fire behavior, extinguishers, and tools and equipment. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

EC 153-2 Fire Fighter Essential Skills - II

Classroom- 25% Practical/Skills 75%

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes building construction, ropes/knots, search/rescue, ladders, water supply, hose and nozzles. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

EC 153-3 Fire Fighter Essential Skills – III Classroom- 25% Practical/Skills 75%

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes ventilation, supply and attack lines, fire suppression and fire fighter rehabilitation. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

EC 152-4 Fire Fighter Essential Skills - IV

Classroom- 25% Practical/Skills 75%

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes forcible entry, fire fighter survival, salvage and overhaul, and wildland fires. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

EC 153-5 Fire Fighter Essential Skills – V

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes incident command, advanced fire suppression, and vehicle extrication. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

EC 153-6 Fire Fighter Essential Skills - VI

This course is designed to enhance/refresh fire fighter skills. The course uses sections from the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter Course and NFPA 1001. Recently updated, this course includes fire cause and origin, assisting special rescue teams, fire detection and suppression systems. In addition to refreshing skills, the course is also useful to prepare new fire fighters for the MS Volunteer Fire Fighter course.

TIM 12 EC National Traffic Incident Management: Responder Training Program Classroom - 75% Practical/Skills - 25%

All Fire Service Personnel Course Hours: 12

This National Unified Program is designed to help <u>ALL responders</u> recognize the dangers encountered by emergency responders working in or near traffic. The Strategic Highway Research program, authorized by Congress, focuses on research on responder safety and safe, quick clearance. Created by responders for responders, the ultimate goal of this approach is to train the entire nation's responder community, including all disciplines, to be compliant. This program is facilitated by the Mississippi State Fire Academy for the Mississippi Department of Transportation.

INTER-DEPARTMENTAL COURSES

This program was implemented to provide local fire departments with very short courses to serve as continuing education and in-house refresher. The training is available in 2-, 4-, and 8-hour courses. Departments may complete these in any order they desire. Contact Extension Services Bureau for instructions for requesting and delivering the in-service programs in your department. Students will not receive certificates for these courses.

2-HOUR COURSES

EC FD2-VF Response to New Vehicle Fires

Fire Fighter - I Level *EMS CEU Hours: 2

This course focuses on categories and hazards of new vehicles and vehicle fire extinguishment and safety.

EC FD2-EH Electrical Hazards on the Emergency Scene

Classroom/Discussion - 100%

Fire Fighter - I & II Level

*EMS CEU Hours: 2

This course focuses on the basic issues involving electrical hazards encountered by a fire fighter while on a scene. Core topics include Safety, SOP's, Size-Up, and Residential, Industrial & Vehicle Hazards.

FD2-NG Natural Gas Considerations for Fire Departments

Classroom - 100%

This course addresses the basic issues for fire departments to consider when responding to potential natural gas incidents. Some of the subject areas include Ignition Sources, Visual Clues, and General Tactics.

EC FD2-ETH Fire Service Ethics

Classroom/Discussion - 100%

This course focuses on how individual behavior impacts decision-making and leadership in organizational and personal settings. Other subjects include Recognizing the Risks and Rewards of Ethical Decision-Making, Leadership Responsibility, and Ethics and Values.

EC-CHEM-2 CHEMPACK: Emergency Planning & Response Program

Classroom/Discussion - 100%

ALL Fire Service Personnel

Course Hours: 2

This course is an introduction to the Centers for Disease Control's CHEMPACK program and its origins. It will teach types of chemical warfare agents and organophosphate poisons, signs & symptoms of contamination, what actions to take in the event of a chemical attack or organophosphate incident, and how to request aid and assistance. CHEMPACK is a lifesaving program that relies on the awareness and knowledge of ALL public safety. Your ability to recognize and quickly react will make the difference in life or death when minutes matter the most.

4-HOUR COURSES

EC FD4-FB Fire Behavior-NEW!!!

Classroom- 100%

Fire Fighter-I Level

Course Hours: 4

This course focuses on educating the fire fighter on fire behavior issues to be able to better combat our enemy. Student will leave the course with a better understanding of the development and stages of fire. The course also focuses on the dangerous phenomenon of Backdraft and Flashover.

EC FD4-NV Navigating the Emergency Response Guidebook-NEW!!!

Fire Fighter-I Level Course Hours: 4

This course is set up to teach the first responder the basic techniques to utilize the DOT Emergency Response Guidebook. This knowledge is critical when dealing with a minor or major hazardous materials incident. The initial actions taken can be the difference in life and death in citizens and first responders.

FD4-10 2-In-2-Out and Personnel Accountability

Classroom - 75%

Skills - 25%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Fire Fighter - I & II Level

Course Hours: 4

*EMS CEU Hours: 4

Classroom - 50%

This course addresses the ever-important concept of 2 fire fighters in and 2 fire fighters out. Additionally, it addresses methods to improve personnel accountability.

EC FD4-EMR Operating Emergency Vehicles-Annual Refresher

Course Hours: 4

This course is designed to serve as an annual refresher for ALL fire service personnel. Drivers of fire apparatus, rescue vehicles, and other fire department vehicles should participate.

EC FD4-FSR Fire Fighter Self Rescue

Classroom - 75%

Skills - 25%

Skills - 50%

Fire Fighter - II Level

Course Hours: 4

*EMS CEU Hours: 4

This course is designed to help the fire fighter understand the concepts of self-rescue, rapid intervention teams, responsibilities of the RIT officer/leader and members, and to help the firefighter identify basic tools for RIT and search and rescue.

EC TIM 4 National Traffic Incident (TIM) Management: Responder Training Program

Classroom - 75% Practical/Skills - 25%

All Fire Service Personnel Course Hours: 4

This National Unified Program is designed to help <u>ALL responders</u> recognize the dangers encountered by emergency responders working in or near traffic. The Strategic Highway Research program, authorized by Congress, focuses on research on responder safety and safe, quick clearance. Created by responders for responders, the ultimate goal of this approach is to train the entire nation's responder community including all disciplines to be compliant. This program is facilitated by the Mississippi State Fire Academy for the Mississippi Department of Transportation. Delivered in two-2-hour formats for your convenience.

EC-FFCS-4 Firefighter Cancer & Cancer Survival Awareness Classroom - 100%

ALL Fire Service Personnel Course Hours: 4

This course is designed to help ALL responders recognize the dangers and focus on cancer awareness in the fire service. This course will cover general firefighter statistics, importance of maintaining PPE, and show different ways firefighters can help reduce cancer within their department(s). Created by responders for responders the ultimate goal of this approach is to train the entire nation's responder community in their personal safety.

8-HOUR COURSES

EMS OP8 EMS Support Operations

Classroom - 75%

Skills - 25%

Fire Fighter - I Level

Course Hours: 8

This course is designed for those that do not have formal emergency medical training but may find themselves functioning in a support role on a medical scene. Topics covered include Patient History Taking, Scene Safety, Verbal Patient Assessment, Medical and Trauma Emergencies, Environmental Emergencies, Poisonings and Landing Zone Operations for Aeromedical Transport. This course also serves as a knowledge reinforcement for the EMR, EMT, or Paramedic. This course is designed to accompany a standard 4-hour CPR/AED class taught by a certified instructor. (Note: Any CPR certifications will be issued by the instructor through his or her certifying entity, not the MSFA.)

EC 914-F8 Overview of Apparatus Pump Operations: Annual Refresher

Classroom - 75%

Practical - 25%

Fire Fighter -I & II Level

Course Hours: 8

This course includes general fire apparatus pumping procedures, fire pump operations, and pumping techniques. It is designed for individuals responsible for operating fire apparatus pumps at emergency scenes and training incidents. This course references NFPA Standard 1002.

EC 922-8F Basic Aerial Operations: Annual Refresher

Classroom - 75%

Skills - 25%

This course is designed to refresh students' basic knowledge of various systems found on aerial apparatus, aerial operations, and maintenance. This course references NFPA Standard 1002.

FIRE ACADEMY FOR ELECTED/PUBLIC OFFICIALS

Course Number EC 175

Course Hours: 8 Participants will also receive 4 CMO elective hours for municipal elected officials.

Course Fee: None

Meals: Breakfast \$6.00 and/or Lunch \$6.00 if requested. Cash only.

Dates of Delivery: October 24, 2024

Target Audience: Elected and public officials whose jurisdiction is protected by a state, municipal, or county fire department.

Note: Students are required to have a member of their local fire departments present. Students are also required

to bring a full set of turn-out gear and SCBA (furnished by their local fire departments if they will participate

in firefighting optional activities).

MISSISSIPPI FIRE CHIEF DESIGNATION PROGRAM (MFCD)

The purpose of this program is to provide an established set of standards for chiefs of fire departments in the State of Mississippi.

What It Is: Fire chiefs may apply to receive the designation of Mississippi Fire Chief. Although many chiefs may carry the

title of Fire Chief, the opportunity to receive the accomplishment of Designated Mississippi Fire Chief shall be from those who demonstrate their willingness to promote and support the Mississippi Fire Service & possess

the established knowledge, skills, and ability expected of a Mississippi Fire Chief

Who Is Eligible: This designation is limited to those personnel who are currently serving in the position of Fire Chief (chief of

the department) or other personnel who are head of their fire service organizations. Examples of this include County Fire Coordinator, Director of Fire Services, and Executive Director. This designation is available to

career and volunteer Fire Chiefs. Personnel who serve in positions such as Deputy Fire Chief, Assistant Fire

Chief, etc., are NOT eligible.

MISSISSIPPI CHIEF FIRE OFFICER DESIGNATION PROGRAM

(MCFOD)

Purpose: The purpose of this program is to provide an established set of standards for the Chief Fire Officer of fire

departments in the state of Mississippi.

What It Is: Chief Fire Officers may apply to receive the designation of Mississippi Chief Fire Officer. Although many chief

officers may carry the title of Chief Fire Officer, the opportunity to receive the accomplishment of Designated Mississippi Chief Fire Officer shall be from those who demonstrate their willingness to promote and support the Mississippi Fire Service, & possess the established knowledge, skills, and ability expected of a Mississippi

Chief Fire Officer

Who Is Eligible: This designation is limited to those personnel who are currently serving in the position of Deputy Fire Chief

Assistant Fire Chief, Division Fire Chief, etc. This designation is available to career and volunteer personnel. Both programs are a consolidated effort between the Mississippi Fire Chiefs Association and the Mississippi State Fire Academy. Both designation programs are not mandatory but are created and endorsed by the

Mississippi Fire Chiefs Association.

Please contact the Designation Program Coordinator for general information and requirements for either

Designation Program.

The Special/Industrial Bureau proudly offers courses to fire and emergency response personnel in the public and private sectors. Courses offered include Technical Rescue, Hazardous Materials, Advanced Firefighting, Water Rescue, and Industrial Emergency Response.

Changes to course formats in 2024 to be aware of:

NFPA 470 Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operations and NFPA 470 Hazardous Materials Technician-I will be delivered in a hybrid format. These changes are to accommodate the new 2024 NFPA 470 Standard and Job Performance Requirements (JPRs) for the Hazardous Materials discipline. The courses will be delivered in a hybrid format over a period of three (3) weeks. The first 2 weeks will be conducted online via the MSFA Learning Management System (LMS). The online portion will be a self-study module. The third week will be held on campus at the MSFA for in-person training and testing.

Surface water & Swiftwater Rescue Technician will be delivered in a two-session format. The purpose for this change is to better optimize use of the new training site in addition to accommodating travel.

The staff also continues to customize courses for our industrial clients through negotiated contract. These custom courses may incorporate all or part of any program offered. We recommend that our industrial clients contact us to schedule classes as early as possible, to help ensure staff and facility availability.

The cost of some of our courses are reduced, thanks to grant funds. As always, we must express our appreciation to the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) for their generous support in programs such as Hazardous Materials and Confined Space Rescue.

The staff of the Special/Industrial Bureau looks forward to meeting your training needs in 2024. If we can be of assistance, please contact me via the information below

Nick Ragan, Instructor Chief nragan@msfa.ms.gov 601-420-1732

FIREGROUND LEADERSHIP

Course Number: SC 611
Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Dates of Delivery: January 8-12, 2024 February 12-15, 2024 November 4-7, 2024

Course Fee: \$360 - Group A \$495 - Group B

Course Description: This course is designed to address the management needs of first-in engine company officers or officials

who are responsible for emergency response actions, including the direct supervision of other fire personnel, prior to the arrival of higher-ranking departmental officials. The main focus of the course is to advance the ability of the initial officer in charge of the scene of a fire situation to safely manage the response actions of assigned personnel. The course curriculum includes preparation for response, decision-making, and tactical

operations.

NOTE: Student must bring NFPA approved structural firefighting protective clothing. This includes

helmet, coat, pants, boots, hood, and gloves. SCBA will be provided.

FIRE SERVICE MANAGEMENT - 101

Course Number: SC 601 Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 4 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 24
Minimum Enrollment: 16

Dates of Delivery: August 12-15, 2024

Course Fee: \$415 - Group A \$550 - Group B

Course Description: This course is designed to assist the personnel currently serving as officers in the public fire service in

addressing information not normally found in other Academy courses. Course focuses on the individual fire officer and varied management and supervisory issues. Information presented will assist the fire officer in making informed decisions required for personnel supervision and organizational change. Specifically, participants will be introduced to subjects such as: the legal aspects of providing fire protection, purchasing laws and regulations, equipment management issues, auditing issues, organizational relationship to the

Mississippi Rating Bureau, sexual harassment, and conflict resolution.

SMOKE DIVER

Course Number: SC 500
Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 30 Minimum Enrollment: 15

 Course Fee:
 \$420 - Group A
 \$555 - Group B

 Dates of Delivery:
 February 26-29, 2024
 November 18-21, 2024

Prerequisite: Documented Fire Fighter 1001-I-II or Volunteer Certification Level I Training.

Students are required to have the Mississippi State Fire Academy Physical Examination Form completed and signed by a Medical Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathy per the NFPA 1582 4.1.4. (Form can be found on Academy website). Will be valid for one year from date signed by Medical Doctor or Doctor of Osteopathy. Entity will be billed for entire course fee for registered students who fail to report for class, those who fail

physical agility assessment, or withdrawal during the course.

Physical Agility Test: Required and will be administered as the first training activity. Students who fail the physical agility test will

not be allowed to continue the course.

Course Description: This is a physically demanding, advanced fire fighter course with a focus on fire suppression and structure

fire rescue. The course activities are designed to provide realistic fireground working conditions, requiring the student to learn as a team member the limitations of equipment and physical conditioning. Course activities are designed to teach: the limitations of fire fighter personal protective equipment, tactics involving flammable liquid and gas scenarios, structure fire rescue techniques, navigating in fire structures in zero visibility conditions, hose line techniques utilizing 1 3/4" and 2 1/2" attack lines, tactics for interior fire attack, and rappelling while utilizing fire fighter protective equipment. The emphasis of this class is personal fire fighter safety while functioning as a team member, exposing the student to a multitude of scenarios

designed to be as realistic as possible.

Other: Students are required to have NFPA full protective clothing, including SCBA and a spare cylinder which

meets the NFPA 1981 standard. Students who withdraw from the course must complete another smoke diver course in its entirety to receive certification. The Academy does not furnish student SCBA for this course.

SMOKE DIVER PHYSICAL AGILITY TEST MINIMUM STANDARDS

- 1. Mile and one-half run under 12 minutes.
- 2. Forty-five (45) bent knee sit-ups under 2 minutes. (Candidate's legs shall be bent to approximate 45-degree angle. Feet shall be held in place by a designated assistant. Arms shall be crossed on the chest with hand palms against chest. Crossed forearms shall maintain contact with chest when raising body. Candidate shall raise upper body until crossed forearms make contact with thighs. Shoulder blades shall make contact with ground when body is lowered.)
- 3. Twenty-five (25) push-ups under 2 minutes without returning to beginning rest position.
- 4. Seven (7) pull-ups (starting position is palms away, arms fully extended downward with the feet off the ground, pull body up until chin is ABOVE bar, and return to starting position, repetitively, without releasing the bar or touching the ground.)
- 5. Carry two sections of 2 1/2" hose in a self-locking doughnut roll up and back down four flights of stairs without stopping or falling.

ROPE RESCUE AWARENESS & OPERATIONS (ROPE LEVEL I)

Course Number: SC 530-1 This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$365 - Group A \$505 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: May 20-23, 2024 June 24-27, 2024 August 5-8, 2024

Course Description This course is an introduction to the subject of high angle rescue. It is designed to build students' confidence

in their ability to use modern rope rescue techniques. Throughout the course, emphasis is placed on safety of both the victim and the rescuer. Subjects include basic information on ropes and knots, rigging, simple mechanical advantages, and other related equipment. The primary purpose of this course is to provide students with a safe environment to learn proper techniques in anchor identification, rappelling, gaining access to victims, and in building both individual and team confidence. This course references NFPA 1006 Chapters 5. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on exam and practice skills testing in order to receive a

certificate.

Other: Students will not be allowed to use personal rescue equipment during the course (except seat harness which

must be approved prior to start of class). Short pants will not be allowed, and hard sole boots are mandatory

during field activities. Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.

RESCUE TECHNICIAN (ROPE LEVEL II)

Course Number: SC 530-2 **This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.**

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$365 - Group A \$505 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: June 3-6, 2024 July 8-11, 2024 August 19-22, 2024

Prerequisite: Rope Rescue Awareness & Operations (Rope level I)

Skills Entrance Test Required

Course Description: This course reinforces the basics learned and demonstrated in Rope Rescue Awareness & Operations and

begins to provide to the student methods to learn advanced high angle rescue techniques. Included in the course are complex anchors, advanced hauling systems, specialized patient packaging and scenarios utilizing high angle facilities at the Academy. Team leader functions are rotated among all participants to facilitate the development of leadership skills during rescue activities. All participants will function as a rescuer, safety, belay, and team leader during scenario-based training activities. This course references NFPA 1006 Chapter

5. Students Must Pass Entrance Skills On The First Day To Continue In Course. Students must achieve a

70% or greater on exam and practical skills testing in order to receive a certificate.

Other: Students will not be allowed to use personal rescue equipment during the course (except seat harness which

must be approved prior to start of class). Short pants will not be allowed, and hard sole boots are mandatory during field activities. Students should review and bring information acquired during Rope Rescue I to class.

Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.

ROPE RESCUE AWARENESS & OPERATIONS FIELD

DELIVERY

This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Maximum Enrollment: 16/group Minimum Enrollment: 12

EMS CEU Hours: Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: Call the Special/Industrial Bureau for information.

Dates of Delivery: Call the Special/Industrial Bureau for information.

Target Audience: Public emergency response personnel of Mississippi

Course Description: This course was developed to assist local departments in preparing for technical high angle rescue

operations. The goal of this program is two-fold: first to standardize high angle rescue information for organizations across the state, and secondly to provide an off-campus training path for organizations to receive state certification as a Rope Rescue Technician-I, normally provided on campus in a 40-hour, week-

long class.

CONFINED SPACE RESCUE TECHNICIAN

(Awareness, Operations, and Technician levels)

Course Number: SC 532 This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$505 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: March 4-7, 2024 November 11-14, 2024

Prerequisite: Rope Rescue Awareness & Operation and HazMat Technician

Skills Entrance Test Required

Course Description: This course is designed to help fire service organizations meet the demands general industry has concerning

confined space entry and rescue. General industry has been under pressure to comply with federal regulations established in OSHA's standard Permit-Required Confined Spaces for General Industry, 29 CFR 1910.146. This standard either requires general industry to develop a rescue team within the organization, or to have a written agreement with an outside organization who will respond to the industrial site within specific time frames to perform rescue functions. This course will address lock-out/tag-out, ventilation, air monitoring, protective clothing, rescue equipment, patient packaging, patient removal from confined

spaces, and supplied air breathing apparatus.

Students Must Pass Entrance Skills on The First Day to Continue in Course. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on exams at Awareness, Operation and Technician Level as well as practical skills testing to receive a certificate.

Other:

Students will not be allowed to use personal rescue equipment during the course (except seat harness which must be approved prior to start of class). Short pants will not be allowed, and hard sole boots are mandatory during field activities. Students should review and bring information acquired during Rope Rescue I to class. **Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.**

CONFINED SPACE RESCUE FIELD DELIVERY This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Minimum Enrollment: 12 Maximum Enrollment: 16

Course Fee: The course fee may be covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Call for information.

EMS CEU Hours: Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Description: This course was developed to assist local departments in preparing for technical rescue situations involving

entry into municipal and industrial confined spaces. The goal of this program is two-fold; first to standardize

confined space rescue across the state, and secondly, to provide an off-campus training path for

organizations to receive state certification in Confined Space Rescue, which is normally provided on-campus

in a 40-hour, weeklong class.

Target Audience: Public emergency response personnel of Mississippi

TRENCH RESCUE TECHNICIAN

AWARENESS, OPERATIONS AND TECHNICIAN LEVELS

Course Number: SC 538 This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 40 Maximum Enrollment: 20

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: \$485 - Group A \$625 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: September 16-19, 2024 September 23-26, 2024

Prerequisite: Confined Space Rescue Technician

Course Description: This course is designed to help rescuers develop the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct basic trench

rescues and do emergency shoring in compliance with OSHA 1926.650, NFPA 1006, and 1670 Professional Rescue Standards for Trench Rescue. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on exams at Awareness, Operations and Technician Level, as well as practical skills testing in order to receive a certificate.

Other: Students will not be allowed to use personal rescue equipment during the course. Short pants will not be

allowed, and steel toed boots are mandatory during field activities. Students should bring a rescue helmet

and gloves to class.

SURFACE WATER & SWIFTWATER RESCUE TECHNICIAN

Course Number: SC 546
Course Hours: 48
Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$485 - Group A \$650 - Group B

Call for information. The sponsoring departments will be responsible for student lodging and meals for the

off-campus portions of course.

Dates of Delivery: Delivered in a two-session format.

April 1-4, 2024- Campus Session and April 8-11, 2024- Off campus training site

Prerequisites: Rope Rescue Level 2 (2010 or later MSFA)

Substitute: Rope Rescue Technician with Highlines NFPA 1006 Compliant

Skills Entrance Test Required Surface Water & Swiftwater Rescue Levels 1-2

IADRS Annual Watermanship Test: 500 Yard Swim, 15 Minute Tread, 800 Yard Snorkel Swim,

100 Yard Inert Rescue Tow, Free Dive for 20lb Weight

Tie: Figure Eight on a Bite, Double Loop Figure Eight, Clove Hitch, Bowline, Prusik Hitch,

Munter Hitch w/Tie-Off, Square Knot, Double Fisherman's Knot, Water Knot in Webbing

Tie/Anchor: Tensionless Anchor, Wrap-3 Pull 2 Anchor Rig/Operate: 3:1 Z-Rig Mechanical Advantage System

Course Description: The Surface and Swiftwater Rescue Technician program utilizes the textbook: Swiftwater Rescue: A Manual for

the Rescue Professional 2nd Ed. The text consists of seventeen chapters and deals with topics ranging from easy rescues to highly technical problems. The course is with 25% lecture and 75% hands-on training. Topics covered include rescue techniques of Reach-Throw-Row/Go-Helo. Students will learn skills and gain

confidence in still water, flood water, and Swiftwater environments. Areas covered will include rescue swimming, boat operations, and advanced rope rescue applications. **Students Must Pass Entrance Skills On**

First Day To Continue In Course. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on all exams and practical skills

assessments in order to receive a certificate.

Note: Required PPE: Water Rescue Helmet & PFD, Wet Suit and/or Dry Suit, Water Rescue Boots, Whistle and

Gloves, Knife, Mask & Snorkel, Swim Fins (short).

Recommended Equipment: Water Rescue Throw Bag & Rope, Strobe/Chem Light, Sunscreen, Water Bottle.

*Students/Sponsoring Departments are responsible for off-campus lodging and meals Wednesday

through Friday

FIREFIGHTER INTERVENTION RESCUE SURVIVAL TECHNIQUES (FIRST)

Course Number: SC 537
Course Hours: 40
Maximum Enrollment: 24

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Course Fee: \$365 - Group A \$505 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: March 18-21, 2024 May 6-9, 2024 October 28-31, 2024

Prerequisite: Firefighter 1001-I-II and/or Certified Volunteer Firefighter Level - I

Course Description: This course is designed to train firefighters in rapid intervention operation and survival techniques. The

course will consist of both classroom and practical settings. Firefighters will train in personal escape

procedures, rescue of downed firefighter, SCBA use, safety, NFPA 1500 standard and OSHA 29 CFR 1910.104 regulation for rapid intervention teams, and much more. The course is for all firefighters, although it is a physically demanding course due to the time and events using full firefighter protective equipment.

Other: Students are required to have NFPA full protective equipment including SCBA which meets NFPA

1981standards. SCBA availability will be limited to out of state students.

VEHICLE EXTRICATION & RESCUE TECHNICIAN

(AWARENESS, OPERATIONS AND TECHNICIAN LEVELS)

Course Number: SC 545 This Course Is Accredited By PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 48

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment:24Minimum Enrollment:10Course Fee:\$400 - Group A\$540 - Group BDates of Delivery:April 22-26, 2024October 7-11, 2024

Prerequisites: NFPA 472 Hazardous Materials Operations & NFPA 1006 Confined Space Rescue Technician

Course Description: The Vehicle Extrication & Rescue Technician program utilizes the textbook: Vehicle Extrication Levels 1 & 2:

Principles and Practice. The text consists of thirteen chapters and addresses fundamental skills through heavier commercial vehicles. The course is designed with 25% lecture and 75% hands-on training. Topics covered include conventional hydraulic extrication, buttress stabilization systems, hand tool extrication techniques, stabilizing, lifting, and medical considerations. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on exams

at Awareness, Operations and Technician Level, as well as practical skills testing in order to receive a

certificate.

Note: Required PPE: NFPA compliant full turnout gear or extrication suit (fire retardant jumpsuit), hard hat or

firefighting helmet, work gloves, steel toed boots, and OSHA approved safety glasses.

Students will not be allowed to participate in training without all safety equipment.

CERTIFIED ADVANCED RESCUE SPECIALIST (CARS)

Course Number: SC 536
Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 12 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$400 - Group A \$535 - Group B

Dates of Delivery: June 17-20, 2024

Prerequisites: 1) Documented emergency medical care training to First Responder level,

2) Mississippi Smoke Diver,3) Rope Rescue-II, and4) any three (3) of:

- Hazardous Materials Tech-I
 - Confined Space Rescue
 - Dive Rescue Specialist
 - Vehicle Extrication & Rescue
 - Trench Rescue Technician

- Swiftwater Rescue Technician - Structural Collapse Technician

Course Description:

This course is designed to bring together different types of rescue subject matter into one course. It develops through realistic, scenario-based training, team leader decision making necessary to accomplish rescue tactics in a safe manner. Course reinforces information found in earlier course prerequisites and seeks to demonstrate how the application of this information can be modified and applied to solve various rescue situations. Course includes topographical map reading, compasses and their use, and overland rescue techniques, to complement other subject matter from disciplines such as structural firefighting, hazardous materials, rope and confined space rescue.

Other:

The class is for individuals who can swim, have no fear of heights, are not claustrophobic, can fight interior structure fires, and understand hazardous materials terminology. Students are required to have NFPA full protective clothing, including SCBA which meets the NFPA 1981 standard. Students who withdraw from the course for any reason must complete another course in its entirety to receive certification.

Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.

TOWER RESCUE TECHNICIAN

Course Number: SC 543
Course Hours: 40
Maximum Enrollment: 12
Course Fee: \$400

Dates of Delivery: October 21-24, 2024

Prerequisite: Rope Rescue Technician (2010 or later) & Confined Space Rescue Technician

Prerequisites and Entry Skills Test Required

Course Description: The Tower Rescue Technician Course meets the requirements of Chapter 4 of the 2017 Edition of NFPA 1006

Standard for Technical Rescuer Professional Qualifications. Students will build upon skills learned in their previous courses and work to solve complex problems in small teams at height. The course is 20% lecture and 80% hands-on training. Topics include controlling hazardous energy and monitoring for radio frequency (RF) radiation. The rescue topics in the course include basic-intermediate rope access, climbing elevated structures, the use of lanyards and back-up devices, raises and lowers, pick-offs, and multi-pitch tower rescue. Topics in this course can be applied to any elevated structures from communications towers to billboards to industrial facilities. **Students Must Pass Entrance Skills On First Day To Continue In Course.** Students must achieve a

70% or greater on all exams and practical skills assessments in order to receive a certificate.

Other: Students are encouraged to bring their own harness, ascending system, descender, and other rescue kits they

might use in the field. All gear is subject to inspection and should be of safe condition and age. Short pants will not be allowed, hard sole boots are mandatory during field activities. Students should review and bring

information acquired during Rope Rescue 2 to class.

Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.

Ascending: Ascend 30' on a conventional sit-stand / rope access ascending system. Demonstrate the ability to down-climb

10'. Change over to descent on an approved auto-locking descender. Rappel to the ground. Complete in under

12 minutes. Two attempts allowed.

Tie: Figure Eight on a Bite Double Loop Figure Eight Clove Hitch

Bowline Prusik Hitch Munter Hitch w/Tie-Off
Square Knot Double Fisherman's Knot Water Knot in Webbing

Tie/Anchor: Tensionless Anchor Wrap-3 Pull 2 Anchor

Rig/Operate: 3:1 Z-Rig Mechanical Advantage System

ADVANCED ROPE RESCUE WORKSHOP: WILDERNESS

Course Number SC 547
Course Hours: 24
Maximum Enrollment: 12
Course Fee: \$60
Delivery Date TBD

Prerequisite: Rope Rescue Level 2 (2010 or later MSFA)

Prerequisites and Entry Skills Test Required

Course Description: This advanced rescue workshop will take students out of their customary urban / industrial setting and to the

pristine cliffs of northeast Mississippi. The course will build on skills acquired in NFPA Rope Rescue Level 2

(Technician) and apply them to the wilderness environment.

Topics include artificial anchors, artificial high directional (AHDs), litter tending, horizontal rope systems, and an emphasis on individual movement on rope. The course will take place Friday morning until Sunday lunch (24 hours total). The enrollment is limited to 12 attendees. Students will be required to perform a skills demonstration of ascending with change-overs, knots, and MAs, prior to participating in the workshop.

NOTE: Students are responsible for meals and lodging. Lunches will be backpacked into the field. Camping,

RV access, and cabins are available through Tishomingo State Park.

Other: Students are encouraged to bring their own harness, ascending system, descender, and other rescue kit they

might use in the field. All gear is subject to inspection and should be of safe condition and age. Short pants will not be allowed, and hard sole boots are mandatory during field activities. Students should review and

bring information acquired during Rope Rescue 2 to class.

Students should bring a rescue helmet and gloves to class.

Ascending: Ascend 30' on a conventional sit-stand / rope access ascending system. Demonstrate the ability to down-

climb 10'. Change over to descent on an approved auto-locking descender. Rappel to the ground. Complete

in under 12 minutes. Two attempts allowed.

Tie: Figure Eight on a Bite Double Loop Figure Eight Clove Hitch

Bowline Prusik Hitch Munter Hitch w/Tie-Of
Square Knot Double Fisherman's Knot Water Knot in Webbing

Tie/Anchor: Tensionless Anchor, Wrap-3, Pull 2 Anchor Rig/Operate: 3:1 Z-Rig Mechanical Advantage System

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS AWARENESS AND OPERATIONS:

HYBRID

Course Number: 1072: OL This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD

Course Hours: 40

EMS CEU Hours: 40 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 35

Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$320 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: 1. January 8 (zoom orientation) Online Module January 8-21 Campus Session January 22-25

2. February 5 (zoom Orientation) Online Module February 5-18 Campus Session February 19-22

3. March 11 (zoom Orientation) Online Module March 11-24 Campus Session March 25-28

4. April 1 (zoom Orientation) Online Module April 1-14 Campus Session April 15-18

5. July 8 (zoom Orientation) Online Module July 8-21 Campus Session July 22-25

6. July 29 (zoom Orientation) Online Module July 29- August 11 Campus Session August 12-15

7. September 9 (zoom Orientation) Online Module September 9-22 Campus Session September 23-26

8. October 28 (zoom Orientation) Online Module October 28-November 10 Campus Session November 11-14

Course Description: The course will be delivered in a hybrid format over a period of three (3) weeks. The first 2 weeks will be

conducted online via the MSFA Learning Management System (LMS). The online portion will be a self-study module. The third week will be held on campus at the MSFA for in-person training and testing. Students must achieve a 70% or greater on exams at Awareness, Operations and Mission Specific levels, as well as practical skills testing in order to receive a certificate. 2nd attempt testing will be held the Friday of the

campus session.

Note: This is a Prerequisite required for Fire Fighter 1101-I-II course

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TECHNICIAN - I

Course Number: SC 472-TECH1 This Course Is Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD.

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 32 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10
Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$1,040 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: 1. January 15 (zoom orientation) Online Module January 15-28 Campus Session January 29- February 2

2. July 1 (zoom orientation) Online Module July 1-14 Campus Session July 15-19

3. November 18 (zoom orientation) Online Module November 18- December 1 Campus Session December

<mark>2-6</mark>

Prerequisites: NFPA 1072 Hazardous Materials Operations (or Equivalent 472)

Course Description:

This course will build upon the information established in Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operation. The text consists of chapters including *Review of Haz Mat Competencies, Scene Management, Chemical and Physical Properties, Chemistry and Hazards, Exposure Assessment and Toxicology, Hazard and Response Information, Detection and Monitoring, PPE, Decontamination, Container Identification, Product Control and Demobilization and Termination*. The course will be delivered in a hybrid format over a period of three (3) weeks. The first 2 weeks will be conducted online via the MSFA Learning Management System (LMS). The online portion will be a self-study module. The third week will be held on campus at the MSFA for in-person training and testing. Students must achieve a minimum of 70% on the cognitive portion and skills to qualify for the certification final.

Note: Due to the content of the text used in this course, it is recommended that students acquire and start reading

the student manual prior to attending this class.

Two (2) field deliveries will be offered in Spring 2022. One in North, MS another in South, MS Updates will

be provided via Website and/or Social Media

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TECHNICIAN - II

Course Number: SC 472-T2

Course Hours: 45

EMS CEU Hours: 32 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$630 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: January 15-18, 2024 August 26-29, 2024

Prerequisite: Hazardous Materials Technician-I

Course Description: This course builds upon the information established in the Haz Mat Tech-I course. Students should bring

information acquired during Tech-I to build upon it. Testing will also be required just as in the Tech-I course, with a comprehensive review of past nomenclature and information. Review of information will be brief to maintain a level of 50% hands-on activity and 50% lecture. Further information will be provided in areas such as monitoring devices, railroad tank car and highway tanker valving arrangements and nomenclature. A variety of scenarios will be demonstrated, using small teams, to reinforce subject presented in the

classroom.

Note: Due to the content of the text used in this course, it is recommended that students acquire and start reading

the student manual prior to attending this class.

INCIDENT MANAGEMENT OF HAZARDOUS MATERIALS

Course Number: SC 472-IC

Course Hours: 45
EMS CEU Hours: 16
Maximum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$630 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: August 26-29, 2024

Prerequisite: Hazardous Materials Technician Level I or equivalent

ICS 100,200,700, 300 or equivalent

Course Description: The primary focus for this course is to emphasis the importance of command and control at incidents

involving Hazardous materials. This course will require participants to manage and lead incidents involving actual hazardous material technicians mitigating emergencies. Participants will be required to complete all necessary NIMS/ICS documents, produce Incident Action Plans (IAP's), develop specific Site Safety Plans, conduct safety briefing, lead in criminal investigations as well as any forms and documents related to criminal or terrorist investigations, incident briefs, and other task associated with actual hands-on scenario-based activities. This course will be lecture, and interactive with students in hand on scenarios. The in-depth planning and decision-making processes involved in this course will prepare the participants to managing

and documenting responses to real world emergencies involving hazardous materials.

Note: Due to the content of this course, it is recommended that students review materials that were covered in the

hazardous materials technician course and be familiar with the types of containers used in surface transportation and the concepts used to mitigate them. This class is only 10 % classroom and the remainder of the class requires individuals to serve in actual leadership positions to manage technicians responding to

scenario-based emergencies.

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TECHNICIAN FIELD DELIVERY

Accredited by IFSAC and PROBOARD. This course is provided through a combination of online and off-

campus delivery, upon written request and availability of staffing.

Course Hours: 80 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20 Minimum Enrollment: 10

Course Fee: The course fee may be covered by a grant from MEMA. Call for information.

Course Description: This course will build upon the information establish in Hazardous Materials Awareness and Operation. The

text consists of chapters including Review of Haz Mat Competencies, Scene Management, Chemical and Physical Properties, Chemistry and Hazards, Exposure Assessment and Toxicology, Hazard and Response Information, Detection and Monitoring, PPE, Decontamination, Container Identification, Product Control and Demobilization and Termination. Students must achieve a minimum of 70% on the cognitive portion and

skills to qualify for the certification final.

Note: Available for Group A only, statewide upon written request and mutually agreed upon dates, and dependent

on federal funding and available instructional staff. Contact the Admissions Office for details.

NFA CHEMISTRY OF HAZARDOUS MATERIALS: FIRE CHEM |

Course Number SC 540-FCI

Course Hours: 80

EMS CEU Hours: 36 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Maximum Enrollment: 20

Course Fee: \$0 - Group A \$805 - Group B

The Group A course fee is covered by a grant from the MEMA.

Dates of Delivery: June 10-20, 2024

Prerequisite: Complete pre-course studies: Foundational Concepts of Chemistry (Q228), NFA on-line course.

Course Description: This course provides the basic knowledge required to evaluate the potential hazards and behaviors of

materials considered to be hazardous for one or a combination of reasons. Directed at the underlying reasons for the chemical behavior of hazardous materials, the course is designed to improve decision-making, safety in operations at incidents, and the possible complex handling problems of materials when they are released from their containers. The course is chemistry oriented, but students without any chemistry

background can complete the course of instruction. Students attending this course should be

emergency response personnel who have the responsibility for analysis, management, and/or tactical response to a hazardous materials incident, or fire prevention, investigation or inspection personnel

who need some knowledge of the hazardous properties of substances.

INDUSTRIAL ON-SITE TRAINING PROGRAMS

EMS CEU Hours: 14 Approved for EMS CEU by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Dates of Delivery: Available upon organizational request

The Academy has for several years offered training in an off-campus format. The types of programs the instructional personnel have provided throughout the state are:

- Rescue (High Angle, Below Grade, and Confined Space)
- Fire Suppression (Incipient and Structural)
- Hazardous Materials (Awareness, Operational, Technician, Specialist, and Incident Commander)
- Fire Officer and Instructional Techniques

These courses have been designed to meet the clients' needs and have often been mixed to provide a blend of information required of brigade personnel having multiple responsibilities within an on-site emergency response team. With planning and a needs assessment, which the Academy provides as part of its service to the client, many of the incorporated subject areas can be provided in an off-campus format.

The Academy provides quality instruction through qualified personnel. We remain committed to providing customer service on schedule and maintain a constant level of service at a reasonable cost. The Academy asks that your organization consider our Industrial Services for your future training needs.

INCIPIENT AND STRUCTURAL FIRE BRIGADE TRAINING PROGRAMS

The following courses may be taken in a 40-hour format or individually, one at a time, dependent on prior scheduling commitments. Each module is designed to be eight hours in length, based upon 25 students participating in the field activities. Modules are often modified to meet the needs of those companies which seek additional or specialized training.

*This offering has been approved for EMS continuing education credit by the Mississippi Bureau of Emergency Medical Services.

Dates of Delivery: Contact Industrial Program Coordinator for dates of delivery and pricing.

MODULE I - CHEMISTRY OF FIRE/PORTABLE FIRE EXTINGUISHERS: Course Number IC 701

MODULE II - RESCUE/SELF-CONTAINED BREATHING APPARATUS: Course Number IC 702

MODULE III - FIRE EQUIPMENT/FLAMMABLE LIQUIDS/FOAM: Course Number IC 703

MODULE IV - FIRE PROTECTION SYSTEMS/INTERIOR FIRE ATTACK: Course Number IC 704

MODULE V - FIRE BRIGADE STRUCTURE/STANDARDS REVIEW/ICS: Course Number IC 705

INDUSTRIAL FIRE FIGHTER REFRESHER TRAINING: Course Number IC 711